Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can Dwarf units be able to carry great weapons whilst also carrying shields? Curious about this because I was thinking of getting together a Saxon-themed Dwarf Army containing at least a medium-sized handful of units packing great weapons (Warriors and possible Ogre Ironguts, for instance), but not too much of an overdose of them; this would be reminiscent of the Danish Axes that the Saxon Huskarls used in the Battle of Hastings in year 1066 (from an in-game cinematic in the PC game 'Medieval II: Total War', they also seemed to be carrying shields which would've come up to the thigh or waist if set on the ground next to them).
Looking back to what I've read in the rulebook, it merely says "also carry" for both shields and great weapons options for Dwarf Warriors, and "additionally" for the great weapons option for Quarrelers. But for Dwarf Lords and Heroes, it doesn't say any of those for their options. Seems it would be a gamble regarding whether or not you want the high strength attacks, and would've been pretty ridiculously far-fetched if every Dwarf unit could have 4+ or better armour saves and hefty Strength 6 against everything in close combat :w00t:. However, a concept art of a clash between High Elves and Dwarfs shows some of the Stunties with shields on their backs while also wielding great weapons, which led me to the questioning of the Great Weapons & Shields combo (including the "requires two hands" and "strikes last" bits of the Great Weapons).
Hope for some clarification on this from the experts.
dwarfs can indeed carry all the equipment. so can have both great weapons and shields. however they may NOT use both at the same time. a great weapon is two handed while a shield requires a free arm to use.
as such if you use a great weapon you end up with a 5+ save. if you use a shield with the hand weapon you get a 3+ in combat.
basically no, you can't :/
spambot kill tally: 79
[16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
[00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^
Thanks for the clarification. The aforementioned concept art kinda threw me off the rules boundaries a bit.
Now I can get back to working on the Saxon Dwarf list.