Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
my friend has a dwarf army and no internet access so im asking this question for him.
the anvil of doom special character guy has a hammer thing. when he "strikes" with his hammer no armour saves are allowed, and if ward is failed then all their armor is destroyed. our question is if he "strikes" the anvil with his hammer would the rune activate and destroy armor with the anvil's power. because it doesn't say strike in combat like everyone else was telling us.
so... does the rune activate when striking the anivl or only in CC, or both?
Bah, my army book is buried under research references and I can't find it at the moment so I'm gonna wing it.
I could swear somewhere in the entry it talks about close combat in reference to the rule. Anyway common sense dictates that the armor breaking rule only applies to the hammer itself and only to attacks made by Thorek in close combat. If Thoreks Anvil of Doom destroyed armor it would say so in a more direct fasion as in "any hits made while striking the rune of smiting? destroy armor...". Course I am trying to apply common sense to Games Workshop rules which is rather comparable to peeing into the wind.
The only honorable options left to we combatants is seppuku or semantics...which amount to the same thing really.
A rune lord’s weapon is not transferred through the anvil of doom; If it were so we can be sure the anvil rules would let us know.
Instead it gives us the rules for striking the anvil and casting its three powers. There is no reference to magic weapons in this regard at all so we must assume that they have nothing to do with the anvil striking.
Because there is nothing in the rules that says you can transfer your rune weapon through the anvil its simply not allowed.
sort of like how you can't put runes onto handguns or the like.
spambot kill tally: 79
[16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
[00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^