Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Well an arguement broke out down my local shop recently, i had nothing to do with the game but i was intrigued to know the answer. Anyway, the Dwarf player had 2 Bolt Throwers. One with Rune of Accuracy, Rune of Penetrating and Rune of Burning while the other had just Rune of Accuracy and Rune of Penetrating. The opponant claimed it was illegal because both used Rune of Accuracy and Rune of Penetrating therefore breaching Rule of Pride. The Dwarf player argued against this. I have never played as Dwarves or really read the rules too much so i was just wondering was the Dwarf player cheating or not?
This is just because im considering them and i'd like to know whats what before i start buying a shedload of stuff.
This is legal. The Rule of Pride prevents direct copies of rune configurations. It's a bit of a cheap loophole, but then again, it IS dwarfs we're talking about.
indeed, dwarves are allowed more of a single normal rune in the army. for example i could have a rune of snorri on a thane while also having a rune of snorri on a lord. what i can't do however is have the exact same COMBINATION of runes so in order to make the above characters legal i would have to add another rune to them.
the rule of pride explicitly notes this and actually gives examples in the book
(of course the rune of stone is an exception to this rule)
spambot kill tally: 79
[16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
[16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
[00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^
yeah, The only thing that would have made that situation Illegal is if the player had added rune of burning to the other Bolt Thrower, giving both Throwers the same combination of runes.
So... same thing that has been said already.
Yet again has an opponent of a dwarfplayer been proven wrong Triumph for Karak-Ankor
( though seeing the opponent knew about the rule of pride could indicate he played dwarfs himself, so no triumph. )
To continue the posts above; ALL runes on an item or warmachine must be the same. So 2 runes out of 3 the same doesn't count. EVERY SINGLE RUNE, and THE SAME AMMOUNT of runes on both items.
You can have  rune of snorri, rune of cleaving, rune of fury  rune of snorri, rune of cleaving, rune of striking. 3 runes each.
You can have  rune of snorri, rune of cleaving, rune of fury  rune of snrri, rune of cleaving. 3 on one and 2 on the other.
You can't have  rune of snorri, rune of cleaving, rune of fury  rune of snorri, rune of cleaving, rune of fury. 3 runes each and 3 the same.
Go and spread the word of dwarvan legalness
I think you're all missing a more fundemental point here... you can't put a rune of accuracy on a bolt thrower...
Woah! Now that is funny. That never even crossed my mind. I was thinking so much about the Pride rule that I didn't even notice that.
Way to go Fitzeh!
LOL nice noticing but before RobtheGuru runs off chanting that you cant put that rune on a bolt thrower and the guy was cheating, just make sure that was the rune you ment RobtheGuru as it would have no effect on a bolt thrower what so ever as it dont roll the scatter so yeah all the explanation above is true and i would guess the guy in the shop never had rune of accuracy and perhaps had R of seeking or the such like.