Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So on your second turn you can start rolling for your miners to appear, 4+, then 3+ etc. but i was wondering do you have to roll? theres been times that my miners would be more useful appearing in turn 3 instead of turn 2 or must you roll?
Well, in the Army Book it simply says that when using Underground Advance with Miners, on the beginning of turn 2 roll a dice, if it is 4+ the Miners appear. It doesn't say "may" but it doesn't say "must".
I would assume that when the rules were written, they just assumed you would want them to come on as soon as possible.
I think it would be up to you and your opponent. if they are okay with you waiting to roll, then sure. But would you start with the 4+ on turn 3 if you didn't role on turn 2? If they think the whole point is that they appear at random, then you should role on the 2nd turn.
That's me thinking out-loud. Probably doesn't help any. But maybe it will spark thoughts.
It does say: ''starting from turn 2, at the beginning of every dwarf turn roll a dice''.
Yes, you HAVE to make the roll Think about it...they're tunneling, and dont know whats going on, on the surface. They just wanna arrive as soon as possible.
It doesn't say must explicitly, but nowhere is it written that the player has the option of holding them underground even if they succeed in their roll.
Starting with Turn 2, you roll. If you succeed, the Miners appear. Simple as that.
It would be nice if there were a little tactical flexibility allowed, i.e. deliberately choosing to fail a throw, but that's the way the cookie crumbles.
WHFB: Dwarfs || WH40k: Imperial Fists, Necrons || WM/H: Trollbloods || BFG: Necrons
Just stop rolling so well.
The steam driller allows your to reroll the dice, failure or not. You can use this to delay if you reroll properly.