Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm not sure if there's a rules forum to ask this but anyway...
It says on the Bolt Thrower entry that I can take two bolt throwers as one special choice. Then it says that I can take an engineer who acts as a unit champion. The question is, if I buy two bolt throwers and an engineer can he affect both with his artillery specialist ability? If not, can I buy an engineer for both for one special choice?
A) 1 Special, 2 Bolt Throwers 1 Engineer (affects both), 105 Pts.
1 Special, 2 Bolt Throwers 2 Engineer (each affects one thrower), 130 Pts.
Although they occupy the same slot, they are still 2 seperate units, and deployed independently from each other. You will have to purchase an engineer for both units to benefit from the additional Balistic skill.
Just to make sure though, it's completely legal to buy two bolt-throwers each with an engineer for one special slot, correct?
Yes, as long as the engineer is attached to only one of the bolt throwers of course.
Your Engineer will still fill up a Hero-Slot as well
You can take 1-2 Bolt Throwers for a single Special. For an additional cost, you can add an Engineer to the crew which acts as a unit champion. Does that mean that I can take an engineer for each bolt thrower for a single special slot? So, for one special slot, two bolt throwers and two engineers.
Oh, I'm sorry..... I didn't read the "each" in your question!
Yes, it is perfectly legal to purchase two bolt throwers, each with one engineer, for one special slot. Not a bad idea, as a dwarven bolt thrower with an engineer and a rune of penetrating is just about the most worrisome war machine in the game.
Sorry again for my oversight!
Okay, here ya go. Hopefully I can type this in a way that is clear.
When taking a bolt thrower you have the option to add an engineer that acts like a unit champion (along with other benefits). The engineer is part of that unit or warmachine and may not leave that unit (he is not a character. he is just an upgrade that adds another crew member to the warmachine unit.)
If you want to take second bolt thrower, you have the option of also adding an engineer to that bolt thrower.
Two bolt throwers, with or without engineers, will only take up one special slot.
I'm guessing that Happy Ninja's response was because he thought you were talking about a Master Engineer which is a character and takes up a hero slot. An Engineer is an upgrade to a warmachine unit and will not take up a hero slot.
So, to make sure I really understand this...
1 Special Slot:
1 Bolt Thrower w/ Engineer + Rune of Penetration
1 Bolt Thrower w/ Engineer + Rune of Penetration, Rune of Fire
Yes, totally legal.
I think you have a good handle on the rules.