Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I played a game vs lizard people today, and I have a few more questions,
1. Can I fire a cannon calling out 0" as my shot distance
2. Can a cannon hit units in close combat (even if I am "aiming at them", I had a great shot at a flank that was in CC with some of my warriors)
3. The stegadon (not sure name, big lizard with skinks on back) is shot by a cannon. Normally shooting hits are split between crew and monster (I was told its both a monster and a chariot, which was confusing but I accepted it). Does the cannon still have to see who it hits? This seems kinda silly but its what was done. Wouldn't it hit everything?
Anyways I learned that dwarfs get flanked real easy this game =) Lost but it was interesting, the organ gun does evil things to skinks.
Aye, the organgun laughs maniacally at skinks and then blows them to bits.
1 I'm not sure, it will propably be somewhere in the little rulebook in the section about cannons
2 I did shoot through a CC once, few months back. It was vs an experienced player who knows the rules well and he didn't complain. Depending on how you shoot you will hit everything in a straight line, so if you shoot from the flank you could hit only enemies, but from the front or rear ( ? ) you will also hit some of your own, and I don't think you can do that with dwarfs.
3 Jup Stegadon. Does it say it counts as a chariot? 'cause if anything with str 7 or higher hits a chariot and wound ( 2+ ) it smashes into a dozen pieces. But because this is also a monster it will propably be some kind of exception and someone who knows more about this should answer.
1: It dosent actually say if there's a minimum of your guess, but as the first roll determines the distance the ball travels further, I would have to say no. Atleast 1''. If the enemy stands that close, just make a grapeshoot instead
2: Page. 26 of the BRB --> Shooting and Combat --> Second paragraph. Units are not normally allowed to shoot against enemy units that are engaged in close combat. The exception is accidental hits. You could, ofcourse, by ''accident'', guess too far or too short. But I would count that as unsportsmanslike.
3: This one im not sure of, as I dont know what the stegadon is reffered as.
EDIT: Regarding the Stegadon. As it is a monster with several riders, the rules are stated on page 61 in the BRB --> Second Paragrapf. So you would have to make a roll to see who gets hit. (ie. 1-4 the monster, 5-6 the riders)
Last edited by King Alriks Bodyguard; December 8th, 2008 at 18:16. Reason: Further Inverstegation, dam dam dammmmm
Thanks for clearing all that up, I figured firing into combat was a bit cheap
When I attempted it my cannon misfired, and then misfired again on my rune of forging reroll. Looks like the dice gods were angry at my cheatingness.
1) rules as written has " declare how far the cannon is going to shoot, up to it's maximum range (eg 24, 30, 32, etc) cannons also do not have a minimum range. unlike a grudge thrower which has a min of 12" you can guess any number up to the max (dwarf cannon 48") so technicaly 0" is in the relm of any distance up to 48". now you have to remember you roll the artilary dice so it could end up at 10" so when enemy is at point blank range, grapeshot is your best bet (flame template, they take a hit at str of artilary die (2,4,6,8,10) with an aditionaly -1 AS. so point blank, best bet is to use grapeshot
2) you can not target a unit in CC for shooting as dwarf. only race who can is skaven. now if you shot at a unit who was infront of the target and it bounced through (eg a character sitting there and you hit him and rolled 10" for bounce) that's legal but don't purpousfully under/over guess that's cheeting.
3) stegadon is like he said a MC, so randomize for what get's hit
Painting: 20 quarrelers