Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Having recently played against some VC opponents, I have had units lose combat and be outnumbered by fear causing opponents. This causes them to flee unless they roll double ones (insane courage?) on their morale check. If one of these units had had a banner with a Rune of Determination (roll one d6 instead of two for morrale check) would they need to roll a one to get insane courage or maybe a two? Can they get insane courage at all? This question stumped the local GW manager. Does anyone have an answer to this question? Thanks
Thats actually a really good question.. It dosent say anywhere at all. You could argue for and against. So my best bet would be, to roll a dice, and see who gets the ''advantage''.
I think this would be better in the "rules" section, but I do think that on a 1 you would get insane courage. The reason being, you are still taking a break test but you get it only on one dice. That's my thought. Might be good to ask GW for a clarification.
Pg 39, second column, second sentence under the section 'Insane Courage' from the BRB.From this, it would appear that the Dwarfs have suffered at the hands of a loophole in the rules (about time too!). I'd say the RoDetermination has no effect, unless you can come up with a way to roll a double one on one die.Such unpredictable occurrences are represented in the game by the Insane Courage rule. This simply means that if a unit rolls a double one for its Break test, it will always stand its ground, regardless of how badly they have lost the fight
Tricky situation :p The purpose of the rune of determination is that the unit will more likely stand its ground and this is indeed a nasty bugger. I'm not in favor of just saying: "jup, sorry. You spent points on that rune so you auto break in this situation. In fact you've just spend points to make your unit run away.." :p Thats just bull.
this is food for a Dwarf FAQ , GamesWorkshop ;-)
i would say that you just not use it, because you cant get 2 1's and therefore no insane courage. at least thats my reasoning.
Beer, Pipes, and Guns... Dwarves had the right idea.
I believe you need only to roll a single 1 to stay. The banner provides you with a benefit to roll 1 die for Ld.
It's logical after all.
And it's not a 2, because it could say on score 2, as it says for casting spells. (rolls of 4+ etc).
Or it could say on roll less than 3. (Which it's 2 the minimum you can get from 2 dices).
But it's good reason for a mass request for FAQ on this matter.
Me and my friends just play that on a 1 or 2 they get insane courage. But that's just a house rule and we don't play too aggressively (well most of us)
Most Notable Achievements:
Killed a Revenant Titan in one shot.
Killed 900 pts worth of Blood Angels in 2 turns while only loosing 4 pts.