Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm a casual warhammer fantasy player who has a Dwarf and Dark Elves army. I picked up the latest issue of White Dwarf (#359) today and read something on page 62, part the fantasy battle report, which puzzled me:
"With a rumble of collapsing earthworks, the Dawrf Miners emerged behind the Skaven battlelines and charged straight into combat with the Warp Lightning Cannon"
However, it's been my understanding from reading the current rulebook and Dwarf codex, that Dwarf Miner's cannot charge on the turn they arrive on the map:
Dwarf Codex page 36
"In the Movement phase of the turn when they arrive, Miners can enter the battlefield from any table edge and will be treated exactly like a unit that has pursued an enemy off the table in the previous turn (see the Warhammer rulebook"
Fantasy Rulebook page 43
"Pursuit Off The Table
A pursuing unit that moves into contact with the table edge moves off the table.
In its following movement phase (during remaining moves), the unit will be placed back as close as possible to the same point from which it left the table, in the same formation, facing directly towards the battlefield and with all of its rear rank touching the table edge.
The unit may not charge, as it has missed its opportunity to declare charges, but may move normally, and may not march, but otherwise participate in the game as normal.
Even if it decides not to move, the unit counts as having moved for the purposes of shooting"
Could someone please clear this up for me? Can Miners charge on the first turn or has White Dwarf got it wrong this time?
Cheers in advance
Ooops, my bad. It was stated that they could charge in the special rules for that particular game, but they can't normally.
Last edited by deeyo; November 5th, 2009 at 13:48.
Wether you can charge on the turn you arrive or not, they will still affect the enemies artillery. Either they all turn around to shoot them back down ( and I'd use 7 or 8 of them, not 20 :p ) and the rest of your army is safe that turn, or they will try to run as far away from the miners as possibly, and not shoot at all.
I wouldn't uae the anvil. It has a habit of blowing up spectacularily.
But anyway, yes it was a special scenario rule. We should get this rule for all eternity :p with M3 and charge 6 we can't be expected to actually be able to charge anything anymore if they just move a few inches away from the miners in the turn they arrive. It's easy to outrun miners.