Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Is there any reason that a Dwarf Lord w/ Shield Bearers shouldnt be mounted on a 40mm by 40mm base, as other US 3 models are? Im getting ready to start collecting Dwarfs, tired of the cheese fest that my High Elves became.
I ask mostly because I think the side by side 20mm bases look pretty dumb.
So nothin huh, can anyone point me maybe to an active forum.
I am no expert but from my Dwarf experience it is so the Lord will fit in properly in the R&F of whatever unit he is with. My lord came with a 40mm x 20mm base. A 40mm x 40mm base is typically reserved for Monstrous Creatures or whatever they call them in Fantasy, Large Creatures? I'd imagine the fluff behind it would dictate that it is because the dwarfs carrying the lord are simply hoisting him on their shoulders. The codex does specifically state that he is on the shoulders of his two bearers thus only being 40mm x 20mm and he does not count as being a large target. Probably an extension of the fact that even standing on the shoulders' of his bearers, the whole group should be only about the size of a tall man, perhaps in armor. There really is no set in stone reason why, that is just the rules. I agree that the 20mm x 20mm looks wrong, but bases are bases, you can always buy different ones if you want. As for R&F though, the 40mm x 40mm would completely throw off the extra ranks and any rules (such as bolt throwers or cannons) in terms of rank penetration.
Hope that answers your question somewhat. Also you need to have patience with the Dwarf players on this forum, typically they are good about answering things, but sometimes just cant get to it right away.
Thanks for the response, I was just looking at the chart that says ogres and other US 3 models use the 40mm x 40mm, and there are rules to figure out ranks when using larger bases inside R&F units. As for my second post I apologize Im just used to seeing some kind of response if over 24 hrs, hard to have a discussion on a 24 hr delay
The shieldbearers isn't a monster, it's two beings with another on their shoulders. So it wouldn't make sense for them to be on a larger base as the footprint they have is the space of two dwarfs.