Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey beardlings and longbeards alike, new dwarf player here, I've been recently puzzled by a lot of statements i've heard recently that basically go thus, "Do not take Gyrocopters!" and i was hoping to fully understand why. I've looked up the rules, cross referenced with eighth edition and it just doesn't add up.
So what i'm asking is this: Why are they so disliked in Eighth? As Far as i could tell, they were staple in Seventh? they are quick moving, have a solid little gun they have access to, Swiftstride (as a flyer) and enough oomph to attack warmachines and small cavalry units without fear of retribution, and with the new errata (As far as i can tell, anyway) they can even bait and flee like proper Fast Cavalry and Flyers. What am i missing or am i just reading the rules a bit wrong?
Thanks for any heads up for this matter :-)
I wouldn't say not to take them ever, they can be pretty fun and rather handy for support charges ( let's say they charge into an existing combat and charge into the enemy's rear. Thats +1 for charge, +2 for rear and maybe even more combat resolution for the wounds it causes ) but they have been limited quite a bit.
Because GW either forgot us or purposely doesn't errata it, the gyrocopter is the only template in the game that still has 4+ partials.
Also, you can not march and shoot it, only move 10" and shoot it.
In 7th it was used to marchblock people, but now that is nearly impossible because it requires the enemy to take leadership tests which can be rerolled with a BSB.
It's still very tough, its steamgun can sometimes prove to be handy and it's decent enough in a fight to kill warmachine crews, but it could have been a lot better.
Weird i thought when it described Template weapons that it says they take wounds for all models under it, in the Rulebook. Can't cite that exactly though as i don't have it here on me, on holidays lol.
And TBO, I said you referred me when I registered, don't know what that does, but yeah.