lord on shield bearers - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member 1337Malekith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Age
    27
    Posts
    221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -1 (x0)

    lord on shield bearers

    ok i have a question, in the big rule book it says great weapons confer +2 str to the weilder, but only +1 str when mounted.

    If i were to take a lord with shield bearers, would it give the normal +2 str or would it count as him being mounted? and would i lose hand wep +shield bonus to if i didnt take the great wep? (all saying i didnt take any weapon runes)

    Darks Elves 6000ptsWood Elves 500pts (WIP)
    Imperial Guard 5000pts
    http://mr-godz.mybrute.com

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Bearded Ninja Arklite's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Edinburgh
    Age
    27
    Posts
    2,678
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    451 (x8)

    it has been concluded that shield bearers do not count as a mount by another forum. if i recal correctly the reasoning behind this is that the sheild bearers don't have a seperate stat line from the lord like mounts normally do and in fact join directly to the model.

    they also quite unlike a mounted model still benifit from the "lookout sir" rule and it states that they are not counted as being a larger target than the units they join. (unlike normally mounted models)


    it might be also a good idea to point out that as the lord and sheild bearers count as a single unit with US3 they are infact immune to killing blow under the new rules
    Last edited by Arklite; October 23rd, 2006 at 13:21.


    spambot kill tally: 79


    [16:19] <@Alzer> Arky's right though
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> I know he is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> He usually is.
    [16:20] <@Kaiser-> Sometimes it's intentional.
    ----
    [00:01] <+zubus> i love you, ya skirt wearin nothern monkey! ^_^

  4. #3
    Member 1337Malekith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    North Carolina
    Age
    27
    Posts
    221
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    -1 (x0)

    cool thanks for clearing that up. looks like i have a reason for taking him again(its my favorite dwarf model)
    Darks Elves 6000ptsWood Elves 500pts (WIP)
    Imperial Guard 5000pts
    http://mr-godz.mybrute.com

  5. #4
    Senior Member Orkbert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    43
    Posts
    573
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    117 (x3)

    But on the other hand lord with shieldbearers do receive a bonus to the armor save (as if mounted) and with 7th edition mounted characters can't be picked for enemy shooting as long as the mounted hero has a unit strength of 4 or less and the unit he joined has at least 5 models, and he does benefit from "Lookout, sir!" (chapter about characters, p.72ff)

  6. #5
    Advocatus Diaboli Rork's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Prowling LO, looking for fresh meat.
    Posts
    4,571
    Mentioned
    3 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    476 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Orkbert View Post
    But on the other hand lord with shieldbearers do receive a bonus to the armor save (as if mounted)
    It doesn't actually count as a mounted model (for anything else), however. A lord with shield bearers is merely a specialised infantry model, with the added benefit of being immune to killing blow (US3).


    Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.

    Quote Originally Posted by amishcellphone
    <3 rork. He does all the arguing so I don't have to.

  7. #6
    Koosh for the KooshLord kooshlord's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Slightly below Join Date, just above Age
    Age
    37
    Posts
    1,362
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    99 (x3)

    Another shieldbearer (S question:

    If the SB model is charged on the flank, does it still get both shieldbearer attacks or just one?

    I believe it does as the rules say the MODEL gets the extra attacks, but I'd like confirmation or opposed arguments.

    Thanks,
    Koosh
    Arena of Death Champion: Nexim of the Guldskullz Tribe. Fear my wrath!

  8. #7
    Son of LO
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,351
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    523 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by kooshlord View Post
    Another shieldbearer (S question:

    If the SB model is charged on the flank, does it still get both shieldbearer attacks or just one?

    I believe it does as the rules say the MODEL gets the extra attacks, but I'd like confirmation or opposed arguments.

    Thanks,
    Koosh
    Well unless you're playing a meat grinder then hopefully this won't happen^_^ But for the record you get both attacks, so you are correct sir!

    Ciao

    Stonehambey

  9. #8
    Banned ArchonFarseerGuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Jafaland, New Zealand
    Age
    25
    Posts
    4,252
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    458 (x8)

    You would get all the attacks, as the Lord with Shield Bearers is counted as one model.

    I guess it's assumed that the other bearer moves around to face the threat, or they just rotate or something. I don't know.

    archonfarseerguy

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts