Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
one quick question about dwarf army.
I can take a rangers unit (upgraded from a longbeards) in a army with no warriors unit and no lord?
because the the rule of 1 warriors = 1 longbeards.
The only way to take any Longbeard Rangers in a Dwarf army without taking any Warrior units is to use either a Dwarf Lord (Royal Blood Rules) or Joseph Bugman (Bugman's Rangers). Should you use both heroes you can actually have TWO units of Longbeard Rangers without having to take any warriors (allowing you to breach the normal limits on both Longbeards and Rangers.)
I may be totaly wrong here. In the erratas concerning the new Dwarfs there is an entry where it says:
Q. If a unit of Warriors or Longbeards is upgraded to Rangers, does the unit continue to count as part of the ratio which restricts players to not having more units of Longbeards than they have Warriors?
A. Rangers are not Warriors, so an army with Rangers in it must still include a unit of Warriors before it can field a unit of Longbeards.
Although this is a poor explanation coming from GW, since they don't mention the Longbeard Rangers' case, the part where it says "Rangers are not Warriors" makes me think that since Warrior Rangers are not Warriors why should Longbeard Rangers be Longbeards? I mean Warrior Rangers don't count in your favor concerning the ratio but Longbeard Rangers count against you? Doesn't look logical to me so I'd say you can field Longbeard Rangers w/o Warriors and/or Lords.
"Farewell friend, for I was a thousand times more evil than though..." -=Michael Moorcock "Stormbringer"=-
I believe the intention of this FAQ was to say you can have neither longbeards nor longbeard-rangers without having a unit of basic warriors. I can't fault your logic, and GW's explanation is poorly worded (suprise). If the people you game with agree with you, power to you.
But I wouldn't show up at a tournament expecting to field Longbeard Rangers without a Lord, Bugman, or a unit of normal dwarves. You risk having the staffers disagree with your interpretation and disqualify your army.
to my question above i found this:
http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ad.php?t=60258 (Dwarf rangers question)
and seems to me that if longbeards are upgraded to rangers they dont count as LB.
so i can have a 1Warriors, 1 Longbeards and 1 Rangers (w/out a lord) and still have a legal list.
Because they're Longbeards? There's no such thing as "Warrior Rangers", simply Rangers upgraded FROM warriors. The rule regarding Longbeards and warriors means that whenever you pay the upgrade cost for Longbeards, they stay regarded as Longbeards and use the stats of one, must have and equal or greater amount of warriors."Rangers are not Warriors" makes me think that since Warrior Rangers are not Warriors why should Longbeard Rangers be Longbeards?"
The rules intention is pretty clear here.
Don't bother having anything more than meaningless small talk on this forum, the moderators won't allow it