Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Quick question for everyone - if an Arch Lector mounted on a War Altar is slain, does the War Altar continue to remain as an unbreakable chariot with basically no crew in close combat? Played a guy last night who said so - doesn't really make sense to me . . . . . checked the Empire book and it stated it was simply a chariot (with alot of cool tricks).
If you have an Orc Warboss on a Boar chariot, and the Warboss gets killed, do you keep the chariot? Something tells me no.
It's no different with the Pope-mobile, as it says in the rules.
yes, you have an unbreakable large target chariot to deal with. At T5 and with the wardsave, there's a good chance even if the archlector dies, that the war alter will keep your unit tied up for the rest of the game. That's why the war alter is a good buy.
If you happen to be on the flank or rear of the chariot/war alter, it won't even get to attack you, hows that for irony. the only way to get out of combat with it is to destroy the war alter.
Actually, if you read the empire FAQ the answer is pretty clear. The war altar is a chariot joined by a character (thus unit strength 6). Therefore, when the arch lector is killed, the chariot continues to fight as normal, AND move/charge/etc as normal just like a chariot, it just no longer has the arch lector. The FAQ says it is driven by sigmar or something to explain this, as there are no other crew. But yeah, it still is pretty effective even after the arch lector is killed off the top of it. Crazy, huh?