Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was battling today and a question came up about detachments. The book doesn't address this very well. If I am charing in with a parent unit, and it reaches on lets say a 6 inch charge. Then my detachment was flush with its parent, where it could charge the same unit with the same charge distance, but it also can see the flank as well. Now, if he was a unit on his own, doing a normal charge, he wouldn't have the movement to charge the flank, but does the detachment support charge rule change this?
All it says is that the unit must have line of sight and the movement to reach the unit from what I interpret. Does he get to automatically move to the flank if he can see it, even if he doesn't have to movement to actually wheel and then charge the flank?
It just seems pointless sometimes to use detachments if they need to same charge as a regular unit anyway, having to wheel and measure that distance as well. You would have to be really close to the enemy unit to get a successful support charge to the flank off.
To be honest I haven't really considered wheeling the detachment first. I tend to move it forward till it clips the corner and then use the "free alignment" rule to get them flush.
In my opinion as long as you are within 8" of the enemy unit and can see the flank then go for it.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.
not entirely. All you need is distance and you automatically get the flank with your detachment, even if they are still in the front arc from their charging position.
This only works with the Counter-Charge option. It specifically states that you can charge the Flank even if you are in the front arc.
It does not state this in the Supporting Charge description, so I would think that you could not get a flank when doing that.