Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi all !
I'm not sure about an important point, I would like to have your points of view.
In the Empire Book, page, 39, it is said :
"A detachment in close support always uses the parent unit's leadership [...], unless its own Ld is higher (this could happen if the detachment is in range of the General's leadership while the parent unit isn't, for example)"
If I have my parent unit in range of my General's leadership, but not the detachment of those parent unit, but the detachment is within 3" of its parent unit, can it use the General's leadership too ?
I suppose yes, cause in the detachment rules (reported here) it is said : "unless its OWN Ld is higher (this could happen if the detachment is in range of the General's leadership...). In extension, if a parent unit is within 12" of the General, it doesn't only use the General's leadership, but this leadership become its own leadership. So detachments can use it too, if they are in range of the parent unit.
I hope you understand what I'm trying to say. What are your opinions about that ?
I understand fully and although i have not yet encountered this problem i'd play it as you propose: having the detachment test with the parent's upgraded LD due to the captain.
To me it would be quite clear: they test with the parents LD and if GW wanted us to test with an unmodified LD, they woulda said so! It doesn't say: "A detachment in close support always uses the unmodified parent unit's leadership".
Last edited by Zema; March 18th, 2009 at 19:09.
Got a "good" rumour from a GW staffer? Forget about it, LO'ers know more than any random GW shop staffer.
Voor alle nederlanders:
The Dutch Legion
I think this would work in a similar fashion to the "Peasants Duty" special rule that Brittonians have. Their peasants get to use the leadership of a knight unit within 6", but in the errata for that army it specifically states that this does not mean that they get to use the improved leadership score if the knight squad is gaining one from a leader. I think that the leadership is unmodified only.