Why Rules Against Special Characters? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Why Rules Against Special Characters?

Although the situation doesn't apply to the group with whom I play, I've noticed on various forums and tournament guidelines this notion of banning the use of special characters. Why is that? I am new to Warhammer Fantasy so it may be a reflection of naivete on my part, but it seems that the characters in the game lend it ... well, character.

There is such wonderful lore and background regarding for the various armies, often reflected in their special character choices, that it seems to me that leaving out the special characters diminishes that lore and the character of the army. Who better to lead a unit of White Lions than Korhil? The Phoenix Guard without Caradryn? Now I can understand that in smaller games, one can simply not afford to field heroes and they certainly would not appear at every battle ... but the complete banning of their existence?

Along similiar lines, I have read in places where people field Caradryn with White Lions or suggest placing Korhil with the Phoenix Gaurd. I suppose I am overly "fluffy" in that I completely don't understand this idea. How does on justify the silent Caradryn leading White Lions, or the Phoenix Gaurd being lead by a White Lion?!

Is this simply a different, competitive/tournament oriented mindset that ignores the lore and background of the setting? Do characters become little more than placeholders for bargain purchasing of statlines and gear?

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    1 Post(s)