Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The rules state: "A Character cannot have more than one bound spell" (p.121) , however an Arch Lector on an alter is capable of casting 3 bound spells during a single magicphase... so .. is this the exception that proves the rule?, or doesnt these abilities count towards the ordinary number of bound spells - in which case a Arch Lectors and Warrior Priest could be equipped with items such as Ring of Volans or the Doomfire Ring?
True or False ?
I would say yes they can, the rule was introduced to stop a captain becoming a bound spell horder and releasing loads of magic item spells.
Cheese… milk's leap toward immortality
Wow, I've never seen that rule in the BRB before.
Though it does seem to be in the context of magic items. Deciding othewise would set a precedent making Arch Lectors illegal (afteral, that can cast 2 bound spells!).
So this rule prevents a Skink Priest taking both the Rod of the Storm and Blood Statuette of Spite, but doesn't prevent an Arch Lector taking a single bound spell (a War Altars light magic however lets the Lector cast a bound 5 "excactly like a bound spell", so I'm not sure you could take a WAltar and a bound item).
I was wondering a similar thing, looking at the answers theres no real confirmation yet so i wanted to add a few things.
The army book says that the priest may cast a prayer exactly like a bound spell, which makes me think that it isnt a bound spell as such, otherwise surely GW would just have put exactly as if it was a bound spell. Which is backed up by the idea that an arch lector can use 2 prayers (if they were bounds this would surely contradict the rule), this is the same with the golden griffon.
As a result does this mean you could have an Arch Lector with war alter and say ring of volans or whatever bound spell you fancy.
If so I think you could see some 'magic heavy' theamed sigmarite lists, the arch lector could be 'casting' 4 'spells' a turn along with any otehr priests casting up to two, depending what items you take.
Maxed out this would mean your talking something like casting 10 spell a turn in 2k or so, all the spells can be relied on cast, and none can be dispelled reliably with one dice.
My Dark Eldar LO recruitment link. Please click to keep the space pirate in contention!
actually. The Empire errata says that WarriorPriests and Arch Lectors can take bound-spell-items
Pretty cool really.
Actually, you should take two priests and a wizard lord, then cast the prayers first. The threat of the impending wizard lord will ensure that the prayers aren't contested! Even then, a L4 WL will have at least 6 PD at his disposal, which is right on the limit of what's reasonable in terms of DD...so he'll get some stuff off, too.
IG since 1999 __ DA since 2002 __ Tau since 2005 __ SoB since 2007
Brets 1997-1999 __ TK since 2009 __ Empire since 2010