Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
My Empire friend used these 2 items on his AL last night, I play HE's and he wanted this build to duel my Tyrion (unfortunately for him I brought Teclis instead )
My question is, which of the 2 items would work first?
case1) the speculum works 1st: Tyrion will get the AL's 2 attacks, then the shield will reduce that to 1.
case2) the shield of gorgon works 1st: Tyrion is reduced to 3 attacks, then gets the AL's 2 attacks anyway. (and the AL getting 4 attacks from Tyrion's A profile stat? or 3 affected by the shield?)
Or do we have to dice it? since they're supposed to happen at the same instant?
Van Horstman's Speculum says in its text that it swaps the "Base" profiles of the two models. In my mind, that means the original profiles are swapped and then modifications for weaponry and effects happens.
According to the Empire book item descriptions:
Shield of Gorgon:
"The wearer can force one model in base contact to lose one Attack."
so its a magical effect that the controlling player triggers in the event of an enemy model in base contact with the wearer. And this effect acts on the "A" stat.
Van Horstmann's Speculum:
"When the wearer fights a challenge he can 'swap' his WS, S,...etc."
again this is an effect that the controller can trigger when the conditions are met (challenge). This effect also acts on the "A" stat.
So the question here I think, is does the controller get to "choose" when to trigger his effects? one after the other in the order that produces a more desirable outcome?
or does the controller have to decide whether or not to trigger the effect as soon as the condition is met? if yes, do these 2 effects trigger at the same instant? and if yes, I think it becomes necessary to randomize which effect occurs first, as it would produce a different result in each case.
I am now leaning towards the 1st, which is the controller triggers them on his own order as he wishes. which agrees with you guys in the final result
Shield of Gorgon works exactly like a Sword of Battle, it just affects your opponent, instead of yourself. Instead of granting yourself an extra attack, you're substracting 1A from him/her.
It has no direct effect on your base statistics. Unfortunenatly there arent any specific errata or FaQ anywhere to be found, so when it comes down to it, i guess its just my interpretation against yours.