Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can the master Engineer be used to reroll artillery dice for the Helblaster. The errta that was released for 8th edition gives that impression.
Yes, I get that impression as well.. same with Hellstorm though, which now is, IMHO far better.
AND he can stand between two of them and lend a hand to either one rather than being required to join the crew of one...if the first one lands in an acceptable place, his reroll doesn't necessarily go to waste, since there's another helstorm in range, and who ever heard of TWO helstorms both hitting?
IG since 1999 __ DA since 2002 __ Tau since 2005 __ SoB since 2007
Brets 1997-1999 __ TK since 2009 __ Empire since 2010
I think it's as the old one but don't have to join the unit to be realistic, but we would like it it was re-roll for everything
Eh, you're wrong.. because the very first thing in the old (and now replaced) description about the Master of Ballistics talks about how the engie cannot utilise his re-roll skill on the new experimental weaponry (Hellblaster and Hellstorm). It stands to reason that years have passed since the edition, warhammer-time AND more importantly there is no mention of ANY exceptions in the new Master of Ballistics rule, so I think we're pretty safe in assuming that Engies have in the meantime gotten used to the new machinery.
Whereas its nice to assume that time has allowed the engineers to master the 'experimental technology', the books don't work that way. In the order of things, the Errata overrides the books, and the Army Books override the Main book. Currently, the army book states that the equipment is too 'experimental' to be affected by the Engineers' re-roll. Hopefully they will change this in the errata at some point, but i'm not crossing my fingers at this point.
But see, that logic is flawed, because.. according to that logic, the steam tank would still have 6 toughness, even though that particular change WAS, much like the Master of Ballistics feat changed in the new Empire FAQ that will be our only reference before the new official book comes out. My point is, ALL of the previous text in the book talking about the feat was REPLACED, much like the stats of the steam tank and it now being a chariot and not being large are replaced. So..
*edit* I see now where you guys are diverging from my point of view. This new change was not, in fact, written in the main book but in the new FAQ's that are meant to clear up questions/inconsistencies and change what is mostly in need of changing BEFORE the official book comes out. One such change, as mentioned is the new (old) 10 toughness on the steam tank profile, which was, I assume given as the result of a new rule which states ANYONE can now wound on a 6 (and can you imagine how many potential wounds 70 auto-hitting gobbos could do in a few rounds of combat?)
Soo... the reason I'm pretty sure I'm right is that this isn't new base material but rather an FAQ that is to precede the -new- 8th edition Empire book, which, as you say, is the final judge on what's what.
Last edited by EbonKnight; July 16th, 2010 at 21:49.
I say you can. because there are new rules written for master of ballistics. The old rules in the armybook aren't valid anymore since the errata says you can lend your master of ballistics to any warmachine.
Master Engineers, Master of Ballistics
Change to “Master of Ballistics: AMaster Engineer
within 3" of a war machine is allowed to take a ‘Look Out Sir!’
roll as if he was within 3" of a unit of five or more models. In
addition, one war machine that is within 3" of a Master
Engineer may re-roll either one scatter dice or one artillery dice
per turn. This may not be used to re-roll the distance bounced
by a cannonball. If the Engineer uses his re-roll ability, he
cannot shoot with his own missile weapon in the same Shooting
DonÂ´t mess with the dicegod
You are completely correct in regards to the Master of Ballistics being able to reroll one scatter or artillery dice per turn, that was what the faq updated. It however, did not change the wording, in the army book, under helstorm rocket batery nor helblaster, which says that these are to 'experimental' to be affected.
I do hope that this changes, god knows that I would love to see this in an errata. I am just not keeping my fingers crossed.
Although this isn't about whether or not a Master Engineer can re-roll scatter and/or artillery dice, there is one idea I had concerning Master Engineers I thought interesting.
With the new missions that revolves around taking and losing standards, an engineer with a hochland long rifle becomes invaluable, able to take out a standard bearer one at a time without needing to destroy the whole unit first. Just another way to use him.
I am heading off to the Peace Corps. It is bery likely I will not be back. Good luck to all of you endeavors.