Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
First of all, did you guys see the errata regarding the Steam Tank? Toughness 10? I mean I was never a fan of how easy it was for it to be crippled by a bolt thrower, but damn T 10. That combined with the fact that there is no such thing as a large target in so far as getting a +1 to hit it, and being able to see large targets over other units. Also, the Metal lore has been rewritten and specifically omits any mention of the spells being strength based, so the steam tank is going to be immune to that lore as well. I play empire so dont take this as QQ, but its seems a little broken.
My main question was regarding the War Alters Golden Griffon? Do you guys think thats it is destroyed as per the new bound spell rules on a Irresistible Force? I was hoping it would be covered in the Errata FAQ, and it wasnt.
I was wondering if this issue would be talked about. my friend plays Empire and I used to have a hard time to deal with them, and now with T10 and immunity to Lore of Metal..... it's just mindboggling.
The only way I can see myself dealing with a steamtank is to get Teclis on lore of Beasts to cast that big str10 spear on 15+.. so he'd need a 10 to make it, which isn't bad. and that's a 50/50 to do pretty good D6 dmg..
other than that.. would anyone think that the Shadow spell "the Penumbral Pendulum" can work on a steamtank? it says:
"..must pass an Initiative test or suffer a Str10 hit D3 wounds.."
would this count as a "..spell with a given strength"?
otherwise, I also see this tough shadow spell "Okham's Mindrazor" as a nice candidate to be cast on something like Dragon Princes or Pheonix Guard with LD9 and they'd atleast have a 5+ chance to wound
As for the Golden Griffon, the errata does mention:
Q. If the Arch Lector miscasts a spell from the Lore of Light when
using the Golden Griffon, what happens? (p53)
A. The Golden Griffon loses its powers for the rest of the
Isn't this your question?
yep that answers my question, thanks! I must have skipped over it. As far as the "Penumbral Pendulum", my guess is that it would work. The steam tank automatically fails initiative tests, and the spell does have a given strength, shrug.
Does it say somewhere that the stank autofails I tests? I would think that if it doesn't have a characteristic, that characteristic just can't be tested...so the spell wouldn't work on a stank. A better idea would be to trick a wizard into standing next to a stank and having a miscast!
IG since 1999 __ DA since 2002 __ Tau since 2005 __ SoB since 2007
Brets 1997-1999 __ TK since 2009 __ Empire since 2010
yea the stank automatically fails I-Tests
ofcourse. but the spell Penumbral Pendulum "does" have a Strength value. Str10 hit. it's just a conditional one. so it should satisfy the condition of Stank immunity of having a Str value. that's how I see it anyway.
Just thought id throw this in... they updated the errata. Steam tank is no longer immune to magic! Hello cloying quagmire!
Death Gaurd: 6/6/2
Warriors of Chaos 3/1/1