Which army list is right? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Which army list is right?

    If I want to go Army of Middenland, do I use the SoC army list, do I use the list in Chronicals 2004, or are they two separate lists? For, now that I look, SoC has "Army of Middenland" and Chronicals 2004 has "Cult of Ulric." Are they two separate armies? If not, which one's rules are correct, as Cult of Ulric gets no detatchments, but has more priest possibilities, and has other stuff to make up for it, and Army of Middenland has no rule banning detachments. And then...what is core and special is slightly different in regards to warriors of ulric and swordsmen. Can someone shed some light onto the subject? Thanks.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Iron Loki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    619
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x2)

    their completly seperate lists, no ties to each other.
    that's the thing about perfection, it can only get worse.

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    9
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Thanks. They both have some nifty points to them, so I'll probably work on making an Ulric army that can use both lists depending on how I'd like them to fight. Guess it makes my several hangunners kinda worthless, but oh well. At least my captain isn't worthless.

    By the way, if a unit is a special or a rare choice, do detachments of that unit count towards the maximum allowance of that unit? For example, detachments of crossbowmen or hangunners for Army of Middenland, or archers for cult of Ulric?
    Last edited by The_Black_Hats; April 1st, 2005 at 07:18.

  5. #4
    Son of LO Araith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Nederland
    Age
    28
    Posts
    2,044
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    53 (x5)

    Detachments don't count as a (core, special or rare) slot.


    Tai'shar
    Lance Leader of the LO Codex: Wasters design team



    Forged in fire, bonded in ice
    Son of Fenris, Son of Russ

  6. #5
    Senior Member Teron's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    947
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x2)

    THough one cannot take Handgunner or Crossbowman detachments in an Army of Middenland list, only Core troops are allowed. And Ulrican cultists can't use detachments anyway (Note that State Troops for the Cult of Ulric are cheaper than normal due to loss of Detachments rule)
    Use Light, Beasts, Metal instead of Heavens
    NecroLords: Use at least one Death Mage
    Brets: Use Peasants&Damsels
    Skaven: Don't use Skryre SAD

  7. #6
    Senior Member Iron Loki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    619
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x2)

    i always thought state troops in a CoU army where so cheap point wise, as they where expected to get pounded during the shooting/magic(to a lesser extent) phases.
    that's the thing about perfection, it can only get worse.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts