Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
i posted this here because ifiggered the empire forum would know the most about the tank.
in the steam tank rules it says it can be used in an army of at least 2000 points. it doesnt specify what army, empire, humans or otherwise. IS THIS LEGAL? or just a loophole. I for one would love to have a steam tank in my dogs of war army...ogres, dragons, humans...and a steam tank:w00t:
what do y'all think?
Yes, I've came across this error as well. Long time ago, I read in the forum that a person once used a steam tank in there Orc army, in a tourney. When the judge asked him to show him that he was allowed to do so, he showed him the current steam tank rules, since it didn't say what army the steam tank was specifically for the player was allowed to use the steam tank.
Join the Musician Corps. LO's finest
The Musician Clan
The Star Wars Clan
GET ER DONE!
Common sense would indicate that the Steamtank is Empire only.
Yet another reason to hate the steamtank... poorly written rules.
i dont understand why its written that way, every other entry has a "for use in this army only" i dont think GW whould make a mistake that obvious...
Do the steam tank rules make mention of a 'may only be used with opponents consent' part??
This would kind off make more sense, also to those of you playing 40k it is much like the orks ability to 'hijack' other armies vehicles.
nope, just a "the steam tank may be used in an an army of 2000 points or more"
ITS CALLED THE BLOODY "EMPIRE STEAM TANK" OF COURSE ITS FOR THE EMPIRE!!! anyone who tries to abuse the rules by using it with another army is just a cheater plain and simple. sorry 'bout the little rant but this topic has been addressed at least 3 times in the past year and a half.
2,500 points Empire
1,300 points Dwarves
500 points Cygnar
Thanks for the clarification, the empire book is one of the 3 fantasy armies books i dont have.nope, just a "the steam tank may be used in an an army of 2000 points or more"
In this case then i must wholeheartedly agree with 'zuz' the EMPIRE steam tank can only be used in an empire army.
For me, the fact that the whole tank is littered with hammers (of Sigmar), oh and the fact that theres a empire engineer poking his little head from the turrent, thats gives it away as an empire tank.
And i think that the only province that can legally field a steam tank is "Cheddar". Which is right next to "Nobody will ever play you again" incase any new players were thinking of purchasing a steam tank.
Jesus saves!!! Everyone else loses a wound.
Steam Tank isn't actually that powerful, sure, if ignored it can be dangerous. But if the enemy actually targets it with sensible things, it will die pretty easily. And the more damage it takes, the worse it is.
I have used the STank in a total of 8 games, and the most it has done is hold up a nasty unit for a few turns.
And a couple of times its been taken down from full hull points to 0 in 1 round of combat or shooting.
That said, I only use it when I am facing an army like Bretts, where their charge is devastating to anything like empire infantry.
Regarding the STank in any army thing, the rules do say "Empire Steam Tank - May be used in battles of 2000 points upwards" or something similar, except for the name of the thing, the empire is not mentioned. Most other things say "Can be used by [army]".
Still, I would agree that people who do it are wrong, because common sense says its an empire unit.