Another Newbie for The Emperor - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
    Superflat Monogram Sayomi Akimoto's Avatar
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

72 (x1)

Another Newbie for The Emperor

Hello brothers and sisters of the Emperor. I am normally a Warhammer 40k player, but as of late I've been cruising around and looking at Warhammer Fantasy. I've played the trial game that the store offered, and I am rather interested. As I looked through all the armies available, I found that the Empire offered me the most appeal.

I'm a complete newbie to the game however, so I've no real concept of the rules, as well as the Empire itself as an army. This is where my appeal to you all come in, and I wanted to ask how would an army based around a Warrior Priest, flagellants and swordsmen sound?

I really like the Warrior Priest and the Flagellants, but I find the swordsman don't look very... Manly? I was wondering if there were any sort of other miniature that would make an accetable proxy, yet still look the part of a man at arms.I'm willing to do moderate conversions if necessary for more armored men. I'm very much a sucker for masses of the basic, overwhelming numbers of men, like the Imperial Guard, yet also like the occasional super leader somewhere in the bunch.

Either way, I wanted to build an army that focused on being on the offensive in melee combat, so I was hoping for help in that department, what would I be looking to buy? How many? How would such an army work? Oh, and I'm trying to go for a small detatchment, so maybe 500 pts or so? I plan on going bigger, but for now just that much. I plan on buying the rulebook and the Empire book as well this weekend.