Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
We have a person in our gaming club who has a character he's never not used since the new empire book came out.
Captain, Pegasus, Aldred's Casket of Sorcery.
We have a couple VC players at our club who will no longer play against him (I won't use my VC, but have no problem using my chaos, elves or ogres against it) with this as there is no way to take out this guy without a lucky magic missile (which he saves scrolls to keep this character alive).
He uses that casket every turn and always rolls a 4+ (testing for loaded dice some day ).
The rulebook states that it is Power Level Variable. Does this mean that you can stop it before he rolls the 4+ to get rid of the spells from the opposing wizard? He states that the bound spell note is for the spell stolen only, not to stop the chance of stealing it.
Thanks in advance
No, the cascet itself is not a bound spell item, your empire player is right concerning this "power level variable".
For your VC players:remember the 12" range of the cascet and place your necromancers accordingly (so that the pesky pegasus riding captain might be charged by some units. Even if he flees he might get caught and if not, he still might botch his rally test)
Field some Ghouls where they can help out with their 360° sight (skirmishers), some Fell Bats (they actually do have a chance of getting that enemy flyer), and/or if you fancy it a Banshee (and keep it close to the necromancers). If the enemy was close enough to use the Cascet, then after your movement phase you're close enough for the Ghostly Howl
It ain't easy bein' green... :-)
I think your VC players are cry-babies . I think a lot of the new empire magic items are cheesy, but all a VC player has to do is charge him. They have fast moving stuff too (like banshees, as mentioned as well as direwolves, Fellbats and spirit hosts. All of those will either make him flee or catch him and tie him up. You actually want him to flee, since that will keep the casket out of your hair for an extra turn while he rallies. He's just a human on a horse. He should have a really good armor save and toughness 4, but that's about it. In fact, when I play my beastmen, my friend's casket bearing captain always dies or flees to a bunch of Furies.
Thanks for all the tips. I know that personally, i've been having a hard time with this guy turning my necros into.... skellies for all intents and purposes.
I'll have to look into putting my banshee back into my army. I had removed her because of the other armies that play at the store. Yay for banshee vs. Dwarves and Elves. BTW LD 9/10 Orcs?!?!?!
Basically, up to this point, this character has made me put multiple necros into small armies so I have some magic left over at the end of turn 2. That makes the other players have to account for having multiple casters in small games.
Strange how 1 character can change the concept of the entire gaming store.
Basic Orcs are LD 7. There's a magic item which adds 1 to the Ld of all friendly units, and subtracts 1 from the Ld of all enemy units, for the remainder of the Orc turn. It essentially makes an Orc warboss Ld 10 for a while. Your opponents shouldn't be able to field basic orcs with Ld 9 unless they're cheating.
It has yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value. - Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)
Our 3 O&G players have recently started using their special characters. So Snarsnik's been added to the 2-giant army (oh joy, basically 3 giants in that army now), Borgut and Grimgor have made their come-back and the Gorbad's (high LD orc) been so busy lately, Gnarla's feet are about to fall off running from battle to battle.