Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hi all, quick question.
I ended up facing the new flagellants for the first time recently, and ended up confused by the martyr rules. Apparently you sacrifice some martyrs, and among other effects, always end up with hatred.
However, Hatred only lasts in the first round of combat, and I saw nothing in the flagellant rules that contradicts this. It says that you generate hatred every time you sacrifice martyrs, but nothing about it renewing or becoming 'eternal hatred,' or anything else.
SO: Do the martyr rules allow you to PERMANENTLY reroll failed rolls to hit? OR only in the first round of any combat (making the martyr rule less worthwhile after round 1)? Assuming that you continually sacrifice them, of course.
We ruled that it was permanent after asking around the store, but I was still not convinced that ruling was factually based. Any thoughts?
Arena of Death Champion: Nexim of the Guldskullz Tribe. Fear my wrath!
I'll check when I get home, but I thought that you were supposed to continue sacrificing each turn to keep it going. That's the way I understood it.
Beginning of turn - sacrifice martyrs - pick which talent you want
Opponent's turn of battle
Beginning of next combat phase - sacrifice more martyrs and pick which talent you want
Opponenet's turn of battle phase
something like that, until someone breaks.
You dont get to choose which effect you want. You roll to see how many sacrifice themselves and the number thats sacrificed corresponds to the effect. All effects of the lower numbers are also included
e.g If you roll a 2 you will have to loose 2 models but you will get the effects of sacrificing 2 flagellents AND for sacrificing 1.
Hope this helps.
The Hatred works for the first turn of the combat where hatred took effect. I am also lead to believe that you can sacrifice them in your opponents turn too, as long as you are in combat.
So for example, you charge and sacrifice three models, so for that turn of combat you strike first (unless there's some special rule) get Hatred, Re-roll wounds (at +2S from your flails) AND +1 combat resolution. (Ouch...)
IF (and I say IF) your opponent holds, then in his turn you roll to sacrifice, and one model dies, then you get Hatred for that combat phase. However you are now bereft of the +2S, as flails only last one turn, you don't strike first as you are charging, you don't get to re-roll wounds, and you don't get the +1 for Combat Resolution.
You can then roll for deaths in your round, etc, until either you die or they run away.
So basically, you get Hatred for the combat round you rolled for. Technically, you could get continual hatred, by sacrificing models each round, but that depends on whether you care for the lives of your Flagellants or not...
Thats my take on the rules anyway, and this being my first post, I hope I don't get torn apart...