Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've been mulling over the 4th edition defiler rules, and I have a few questions for you people.
How many of you are planning on using the Defiler? How will use it? Will you use it in cc or still use it ranged? Without revealing too much from the codex, what makes it so great for CC now? Is using it ranged still viable?
I've read the new rules but I'm curious how you guys are interpreting it.
Well, I'd quote what my friend said on the Malaysian 40k forums (or was it the B&C)....
"Indirect fire is for wussies"
To be honest the whole idea of being able to get up to SIX attacks on the charge is an interesting use for the Defiler, as it enables you to run up while randomly popping Battlecannon shots and smack people with your SIX attacks. Or you could just hang it back and shoot, no harm with that as the loss of indirect fire now forces you to stand infront of yoru opponent and fire, making those 2ndary weapon systems not so useless anymore.
As Joasht said, you can now get 6 attacks on the charge, but opting to switch the secondary ranged weapons for c.c. attacks. The fleet option, at first glance, looks good, but whose going to fleet, when they can move and fire the battlecannon? In the end, the defiler functions much like a dreadnought, moving six inches and firing its massive ordinance, and then charging into c.c.. I'm wondering if, when the time comes for the charge, whether I'd actually chose the charge or continue to fire the ordinance. I'm guessing the charge will take precedence in most scenarios.
Spambot kill tally. . .337
Fitted for CC, of course. Now that the defiler counts as having DCCWs, it makes it that much better :yes:
Firstly, as a half-Malaysian myself (Can't speak the language, though) I must say - Malaysian Warhammer forums = WIN. Also, I really like the new close combat Defilers and I wonder if I will ever be able to go back. Not likely. I'm currently planning on running 2 in my Thousand Sons army to provide close combat support. I expect them to be able to fight toe-to-toe with Carnifexes, Wraithlords, and all other manner of monstrosities and come out on top. Well, probably not Wraithlords, but you get the general idea. It seems to do best against infantry that have no other means of fighting back, maneuver it around to get the Power Fist in the kill zone, then charge in and slaughter them all.
@Rabbit: It really depends on what you've intended to take them for in the army list. If you have plenty of anti-infantry firepower already, you'll probably end up using them as a counter-charge unit to deny assaults. It's what I'd do against high speed MEQ assault units anyway. There are a few scenarios in which I would definitely favor the Battle Cannon over fleet, like against GEQs and when the enemy is employing Warp Spiders/Crisis Suits. Ultimately it's the job of whatever shooting units you're using to take down the weapons that can hurt it while the Defiler takes care of the minor details.
Last edited by NiteRabbit; August 16th, 2007 at 06:53. Reason: Some stupid comment about inferior initiative that wasn't true.
Surely defiler's should always take the 2 extra arms now? when you have juicy targets you use the battle cannon and if your enemy is spread out as far as possible you fleet (or if your battlecannon gets blown off).
There is no possible instance when you would want to fire any other gun except the rare occasion you want a heavy flamer. But then the extra arm is better.
Check out my Codex: Farmyard Animals here!
If anyone wants any kind of help writing fluff for any kind of GW army just ask.
I'm always saying Indirect fire is fur wussies, but does any one ever qoute me?! NO!(:cry:(
This is the way i see it: move up and fire. once you get close to the enemy, fleet to get into charge range quikcer and then assualt. I've thried using it in close combat before and it is good. although i think its better as a CC support unit, since its mediocre WS means it will only hit with about half of its attacks. Still, most infantry can't touch it. The other day I got 2 of these bad boys to charge a termie squad(LCs). The chaplain and librarian were helpless
That is not dead which may eternal lie,
for in strange aeons even death may die.
Well, with this in mind: Rac & HF still? Anyway, Battle cannon = yum. 6 S10 Power weapons on I4? Yum. Ability to use both in same turn after pummeling with quite a few cannons, then proceeding to mincemeat the poor saps...
Hell yes, I'm using a Defiler.
Post your army lists in the ARMY LIST section! Not that hard!
Gah, my manliness is questioned twice in one thread!? This does not bode well.
And I must be missing something, because the acronym "DCCW" just went flying over my head. (God I hate acronyms.)
Luckily, that wasn't the only thing that went over it. What do "Rac & HF" mean? .. also why are they s10 power weapons on i4? The profile says those figures are lower. What rule am I missing?
DCCW stands for Dreadnought Close Combat Weapon, RAC stands for Reaper Autocannon, and HF stands for Heavy Flamer. After this, all of the other stuff should become apparent (because I can't post the actual rules for fear of violating GW copyright).