Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So, I got my hands on a copy of the new dex and last night finally got to playtest. The first game went badly as I let genestealers infiltrate behind cover near my raptors, Lash of Submission sorc and zerkers...needless to say he won first turn and there went half my army. That tactical mistake aside, the game was pretty much lost, so I decided to have some fun with the defiler.
First game, charged an uber cc carnifex, rolled my attacks and wounded 4 times!!! oh, wait, he has bioplasma..."Ok," I say, "go ahead and roll it." The fex loogied my defiler to death with no points won back on it...
Second game, managed to take out some 1k sons and marines when I decided to charge a marine squad...They looked so much smaller than the defiler! Well, he managed to roll a 6 to hit with krak, a 6 to glance and a 6 to destroy it...yup, 666...
So, I've decided not to lose heart, because I think I like the model and the way it plays. Have I just been insanely unlucky?
BTW, 4 termies, 2 combiplasma, termilord with Icon of Tzeentch and Deathscreamer took out full tyrant guard on the deep strike. That was about the only good thing to happen that game.
Also, the Tyrant Guard were asking for it. They would have to be some of the best targets for such a Termie unit + Lord....... good on ya for wiping them clean off the table in a single volley)
Hmmm...... *ponders about Termie unit and personal use....*
LO RULESOriginally Posted by Jaffar_Hasad
sounds like the tyranid player needs to reread his codex. geenstealers with broodlord cannot fleat of foot. meaning first turn charge is not possible.
@jONESIE Yeah, that terminator squad worked really well...for half a turn. Then they got warp blasted and charged by a hive tyrant...and my lord wasn't in btb so couldn't attack back!!! re:defiler hth, I just sit it on the line and shoot stuff until I am comfortable fleeting into a squad, or I'll move and shoot it to charge turn 2 or 3. Only tried in 2 games, but it worked at least that much for me!
@purple40k He gave his genestealers scuttlers. I believe that gives them scout, which allows them to infiltrate and make a scout move; he rolled well on the scout move and was within 12 inches when he got first turn. If we are misinterpreting "Scout" I would love to know as the game would have gone very differently otherwise.
Edit: There was no broodlord.
Last edited by PhEEP; August 21st, 2007 at 15:19.
Yea I've seen the new codex, and the defiler rules are sweet (up to 6 attacks possible). But it sounds like you were just real unluky
Lord of the nurgalings
They should have given the defiler a Toughness and wounds, it seems so outta place with an armour value like dreadnoughts, the defiler can be a good CC option but with an armour value its a big hit or miss, fleet is good but you gotta play defensively with it.
Its not walking invulnerability use your cover, you will see better results.
If you're always worried about crushing the ants beneath you...you won't be able to walk.
bioplasma goes after a defiler, or simul at best. it is double the creature's BASE initiative, so it would be* at best. thought i was gonna reveal it, didn't ya? nope, Possesed One is a good dude.
any how, unless the new defi has init 1, he would have gone first, or atleast simul.
next time you meet this guy, demand a rematch of the carnifex vs defi. then see who wins.
Zoe: Doesn't the bible say something specific about killing?
Preacher: Yes, but it's somewhat fuzzy on the subject of kneecaps.
scout mean they may move before rolling for first turn. so yep, scout was not used correctly. only the broodlord confers infiltrate.
Stealers can't infiltrate without a broodlord, and with a broodlord they can't use fleet or scuttlers. Scout doesn't confer infiltrate.
As for the striking... If the defiler has Int 3 and the fex has AG-I and bio-plasma, it would strike at Int 4, meaning it would go before the defiler, and there's no use making a CC uberfex without AG-I to allow you to go before powerfists.
40K armies: Tyranids (2001), Space Wolves (2008), Sisters of Battle (2011)
Current Rep: 1337
The rules for defilers ain't that all bad. I saw one today take on half a squod of harlaquins with yuriel and win (and send them runin off the board).
Lord of the nurgalings