Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was looking over the new codex and thinking about using a Land Raider to ram an assult squad of terminators into my opponent. The new land raider is cheaper than it used to be, but it also seems to have lost the Infernal Device that allows it to fire while moving. Is there something that I'm missing? It appears that, without the infernal device, the 'raider can't fire it's twin-linked lazcannons because they are not categorized as defensive weapons. This makes the land raider a high AV rhino with more than six times the point cost. So, is it really a tank that shouldn't move or a transport that can't shoot it's best weapons?
The Land Raider has become far more plausible. Yes the loss of the infernal device hurts it but its so much cheaper now.
Turn 1, 12"
Turn 2, 12" and charge out
Turn 3+ fire away
It's much cheaper than it was in 3rd edition and is a great candidate for possession because it can retain its transport status and with an all twin-linked armament it doesn’t suffer so much from the drop in ballistic skill. I think you will find most players regard it as a much stronger option than its 3rd edition counterpart.
I agree that a point drop is warranted. It also makes it a great candidate for possession because it can't be shaken or stunned. The issue that I'm worried about is that it can't shoot it's twin-linked lazcannons because their strength is high enough to count as not being defensive weapons. Because, according to the rules, you can't shoot non-defensive weapons if you've moved that turn. It's the same way that lazcannon sponsons on a predator can't fire if you've moved your tank that turn.
lossing the infernal device , really shouldn't effect your choice. the LR is and always has been more of a hvy duty transport than a tank. unfortunatly I am of the school that thinks it has a very limited combat role. Now that it is cheaper it may make a great fire base with assult potential.
Thought for the day: A Burning Heretic , Will brighten the Decor of any room.
The landraider is something of a hybrid tank with the ability to deliver troops and also lay down the hurt. Like lordlink illustrated, the role of the landraider changes through the battle. I'm just pointing out the new codex did not kill the landraider
OK, I'm sorry, but I'm really trying to understand the rules here. A vehicle that moves six inches can fire it's main weapon and all defensive weapons. The twin-linked lazcannons are greater than strength 7. I've been assuming that the heavy bolter is the main weapon because it's hull mounted instead of being on a sponson. Does this mean I can declare a lazcannon sponson a main weapon and fire the heavy bolter as defensive weapon? If so, it sounds like the land raider just lost the ability to fire two lazcannons on the move and can still fire one of them.
Main is simply the opposite of defensive. Defensive Weapons are Strength 6 or lower - all other weapons are 'Main Weapons.' Doesn't matter where the weapon is mounted; that's only used for LoS issues.
So yes, you could declare one of the sponsons as the main weapon to be fired, as well as firing the HB.
S8 or higher=main/primary
S7 or lower=secondary/defensive
S3 or lower=irrelevant (weapon destroyed doesn't get these things)
Hence why eldar always take S6 on their tanks.