Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So it seems another codex has come and terminator armour still makes no reference to counting as stationary with rapid fire weapons. Everyone in the area I play has allowed models with terminators to move and fire 24 inches with their rapid fire guns.
Now that GW has had another chance to include this in the rules if they had wanted to, it seems that maybe it isn't an oversight, but a deliberate choice on their part, prehapse this is one of the reasons for the new pricing on Chaos termies.
Anyways my question is how are people going to be playing with Chaos termies now? Allowing them to move and shoot 24 inches as just seems to makes sense, or rolling back to the RAW and only shooting 12 on the move even though they can shoot the reaper which is almost twice as long as they are tall.
welll aern't the autocannons heavy in which case it would make sense to move and shoot 24 with their combi bolters
i wasted my whole life on warhammer so it's a good thing i have 2 wounds and a 2+invul
The rules are fairly clear on this point, terminators count as stationary for fireing heavy weapons, and can assault after fireing heavy or rapid fireing weapons. It never says anything about moving and fireing rapid fire weapons, thus you would use the same rules as anyone else with a bolter.
In the past I've always looked at it as an oversight, such as SM terminators not actualy being equiped with terminator armour, or skimmers not being able to move over friendly models, but it seems they had a easy way to fix it with this codex, and they didn't. Does that mean I should stop moving and shooting 24 as I have in the past? I don't want to cheat if this is an intentional lack in terminator armour, but it does seem silly. Anyways, I welcome oppinions.
The spirit of the rules suggests that a model that can rapid fire a weapon can also move and fire the weapon at its full distance. There might actually be a ruling on this as well, but I haven't read it. I'll do a little research and hopefully get back to you by the end of the day.
Spambot kill tally. . .337
Thanks to Paladin 77 for giving me this info, this is the rules info i give my opponenets when they say you can't rapid fire Tsons and assualt. If you read these pages in the BGB it gives you pretty clear indication that as a 'stable Platform" you can rapid and assualt.
QUICK ANSWER QUESTIONS ABOUT THOUSAND SONS
Can 1k Sons Marines charge after rapid firing?
Only those with the Rubric sign can. Note that the Champions of units don't have the Slow and Purposeful rule, so if they fire a Rapid Fire weapon, they'll prevent the unit from being able to charge. (Ref: Page 75 of the BGB.)
Paladin 77 on librarium online
Page 36(italic text) shows that chaos termies shooting rapid fire weapons can assault
Do Tzeentch units with the Rubric Sign strike at initiative one?
Models with the Slow and Purposeful Rule no longer strike at initiative one. The Rules for Slow and Purposeful are replaced by the new rules found in the Warhammer 40K Rules Book, which no longer mentions anything about striking at initiative one. This extends to Tzeentch models with the Rubric Sign, as it gives them Slow and Purposeful. (Ref: Page 74 of the Warhammer 40K rules book.)
Step1 Remove all bolter like weapons from the Chaos Terminator squad.
Step2 Replace with many pairs of Lightning claws and Reaper AutoCannon/ChainFist combos.
Step3 Add Icon of Khorne.
Now you have no problem with whether or not your unit can rapid fire its bolters and charge or move etc.
I couldn't tell you the exact page number, but there is a small clause type paragraph that says that models that count as stationary when shooting (despite movement) can charge into combat - I think that this kind of gets us to lean more towards the spirit of the rule side of the arguement. But then again, it's late and I am not making much sense. Hope this helps.
"If you can wait til I get home, then I swear we can make this last."
Hotspike is bang on the money.
This is definitely a situation where people should just be reasonable and not rules lawyer for or against.
I mean, if you're facing chaos terminators would you really not let them charge after rapid firing their TL bolters?
And if you do.. do you have anyone who's willing to play you anymore?
Loyalists can still charge after firing two ass cannons in your face.. if there's anything left that is.
Once again.. why no problem with that and suddenly a problem with combi plasma?
Just be nice as you play. You'll have a better game. Scouts honour.