Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So while building/deciding on my LaTD army I stumbled across the following quite "disturbing" thing.
Chaos spawns; in the LaTD codex they're like half the cost, take up a heavy support slot, go in 3-5 models a squad and even have a 3+ save.
However, in the new chaos they're beasts which makes them a lot more assaulty, they've also got a wound more. Most important is that is doesn't take up a FOC slot.
I pretty much have access to both given I play a LaTD army, but I think 2 russes and a basilisk is more interesting then those spawns. However I could save pretty much 100 points or something like that when going LaTD spawns.
The thing when using out of date rules, like the Codexye of Terror and LatD, is to do it fair. Since the new Codex have different rules for Spawns, I guess it would be fair to use them when playing LatD too.
And if you plan on going RAW on me, LatD is not any longer a valid Codex.
I never knew LaTD was really a "invalid" codex. Sure, in conjunction w/ the new chaos codex it's a completly different thing. And yeah, it's been an older codex... but as long as no errata/new one appears I don't see why using it should be an issue. Especially when i'm playing more at home then at tournies. If you're going tournies I can understand the "invalid".
But back ontopic;
Well, the way I see it, those 2 spawns are 2 different things in a way, but the same in another. So basically
1. does the "updated" profile justify the higher cost?
2. what would you go for? Considering you could have spawns anyway; albeit "more expensive".
a 3rd, pretty much accompanied question.
If I can have 0-1 fast attack when I use CSM allies and given the spawn is Fast attack, but doesn't take a slot in the FOC; what happens? Can I take just one squad? Or could I basically take more then one? It's basically just one slot; it pretty much "divides itself" to more squads if you take more then the single squad size.
Any non-standard Codex becomes invalidated whenever its parent codex is re-released. For instance, from the Eye of Terror Codex, the Ulthwe Eldar haven't been legal ever since the Eldar Codex was released.
Lost and the Damned are slightly different in that they exhibit both the traits of Chaos Marines and Imperial Guard, as well as being able to be played without influence from either Codex. However, their parent Codex is officially the Chaos Codex, so are no longer legal for play once the old Codex becomes illegal.
The new Codex is not designed to be compatible with Lost and the Damned - it's designed to replace it. That's why little thing like this pop up from time to time.
Now, with all that official stuff out of the way - however you and your friend elect to play is between all of you. Personally, I would just continue to use the rules from the 3rd Edition Codex rather than the new release. Just to make things easier and what not.