defiler base - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: defiler base

  1. #1
    Member Stinger989's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    too far from a gaming store
    Age
    30
    Posts
    225
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x1)

    defiler base

    i am converting my defiler and i want to add a base to it. since the normal defiler does not come with a base i would like to know if using the large blast template would be ok for rtt tournements and grand tournments. if any one knows let me know. i know its not a normal size base but its too big to fit on a dreadnought base. ill post some pictures of it later today when i got some more time.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Painting Machine! Tekore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tale of Painterville
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,668
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    542 (x8)

    Page 6 of the BGB deals with this. You can mount a model on a base that is bigger if you like, you just can't "shrink" the model through a smaller base. So you should be more than fine.

    Tekore

  4. #3
    Aesthete honorableSimon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Massachusetts, USA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    541
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    69 (x2)

    Also, correct me if I'm wrong, but I think with vehicles (such as the Defiler) you measure distances to the hull of the vehicle (i.e. the leg or whatever's closest).
    Back from the dead to haunt new houses.
    Send me a hello if you remember me.

  5. #4
    Painting Machine! Tekore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Tale of Painterville
    Age
    35
    Posts
    2,668
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    542 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by honorableSimon View Post
    Also, correct me if I'm wrong, but I think with vehicles (such as the Defiler) you measure distances to the hull of the vehicle (i.e. the leg or whatever's closest).
    Indeed, so the base is immaterial to the matter of measuring.

    Tekore

  6. #5
    Has a monkey! Imperialis_Dominatus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Montana
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,630
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x5)

    I saw a game last week where there was an argument over where one draws LoS to the Defiler and what counts as the hull. I believe a base would be reasonable, as a vehicle has line of sight drawn to it to either the base or the hull. This could really clear up how to target a Defiler; as it counts as size 3, you'd be able to see it in many cases anyway. I say go for it.

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Age
    34
    Posts
    19
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    This is a question I have had as well. Almost all of the rules for walker refer to the base of the vehicle. Defilers are, to my knowledge, the only baseless walker.

    This causes many of the rules for how they can be targeted and who they can hit to be confusing. Especially given the extreme size of their legs. The number of potential incoming and outgoing CC attacks radically changes based on weather you measure from the legs or the hull or what.

  8. #7
    Has a monkey! Imperialis_Dominatus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Montana
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,630
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x5)

    Well since you just mentioned a 'hull' then the ruling in the BGB would apply. Thus not the legs.

  9. #8
    Member JitM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Sundsvall, Sweden
    Age
    41
    Posts
    64
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    7 (x1)

    So with the legs spread out nicely it can't be charged?
    Ok, it's a somewhat silly question but still, what do you say?
    JitM

    Disciple of Khorne
    "Blessed is the mind too small for doubt"

  10. #9
    Has a monkey! Imperialis_Dominatus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Montana
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,630
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    103 (x5)

    That's exactly the point. The legs apparently can be configured by unscrupulous players to avoid being targeted so they are considered outside the 'hull' and thus not part of the target.

    Bear in mind this is hearsay on my part. I cannot recall where I heard this ruling.

    But of course, if they can't be targeted, you could charge through them. They aren't part of any hull or base, so they don't count as the model itself.

    Really, it would have been easier if the Defiler had come with a base. Or if they covered it in the FAQ. But no....

  11. #10
    The Fallen Cheredanine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    SW England
    Age
    48
    Posts
    7,745
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    411 (x8)

    wouldnt waste a blast template on it either, an old CD would do nicely
    Everything you have been told is a lie!


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts