Raptors, should I buy them? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!

Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    110 (x4)

Raptors, should I buy them?

I have been playing a Chaos all-infantry/walker/bike army for 2 years now, but I've never got the tempt to get some Raptors to try them out. They are quite expensive and I don't like 'proxy' models (slapping loyalist jump pack onto CSM is proxy in my book too). What are you guys' experience with them? Are they good at whatever they do (be it tank hunt or straight out assault) or are they just some over-priced distraction dummies?

Anima Tactics - try it out!

2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements

Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    2 Thread(s)

ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    946 (x8)

Hello,

Forth edition raptors are a fine choice. In 3rd edition, they were too expensive for general inclusion, although, some people still used them well (Caluin, Karmoon, maybe yak). After all, they cost over 300 points for an 8 man squad, and the basic chaos marine squad cost around 200 points.

However, in 4th edition, the roles are somewhat reversed, though, not to the extremes as in 3rd edition. Since our 10 man marine squad with rhino costs around 250 points, we can now feasibly take 8 men raptor squad for roughly the same cost, if not a little cheaper. Plus, raptors tend to get into c.c. a round earlier than rhino trucking marines.