Question about Kharn the Betrayer - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    With Oden On Our Side... The Doctor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    I'm on a boat!
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,137
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x3)

    Question about Kharn the Betrayer

    Alright, this came up in a battle the other day.
    I charged with Kharn (into a full squad of 20 Kroot, plus some hounds).
    Now, I thought I had 8 attacks (5 base, plus Charge, Furious Charge, and 2 CCW).
    My opponent said I only had 7, claiming I did not have 2 CCW's.

    My question, is Gorechild counted as a 1 handed weapon?
    My theory is that it was, as in it's text (which I showed to my opponent), it says it is counted as a power weapon, aka a 1 handed weapon. Am I right, or am I just imagining things that make Kharn more awesome.

    In the end, we decided on a 4+ I got the extra attack. I rolled a 3 However, I still killed all his Kroot and only took 1 wound.8X

    Half Gods are worshiped with Wine and Flowers. Real Gods are worshiped in Blood.

    Blood for the Blood God! Beer for the Bronze Keg!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Hominus Nocturnum jmeis982's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dubuque, IA
    Age
    34
    Posts
    529
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    44 (x2)

    Re-reading gorechild as written I would have to agree with you...That gorechild is One handed.
    Last edited by jmeis982; December 12th, 2007 at 09:04.

  4. #3
    for good and for awesome! kore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Riverside, CA
    Age
    39
    Posts
    1,492
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    134 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by The Doctor View Post
    Alright, this came up in a battle the other day.
    I charged with Kharn (into a full squad of 20 Kroot, plus some hounds).
    Now, I thought I had 8 attacks (5 base, plus Charge, Furious Charge, and 2 CCW).
    My opponent said I only had 7, claiming I did not have 2 CCW's.

    My question, is Gorechild counted as a 1 handed weapon?
    My theory is that it was, as in it's text (which I showed to my opponent), it says it is counted as a power weapon, aka a 1 handed weapon. Am I right, or am I just imagining things that make Kharn more awesome.

    In the end, we decided on a 4+ I got the extra attack. I rolled a 3 However, I still killed all his Kroot and only took 1 wound.8X
    You were both wrong to one degree or another.

    - Gorechild is a one-handed weapon (you're correct)
    - You only get 7 attacks on the charge (you're opponent is correct)
    - Furious Charge doesn't add attacks (you're both wrong)

    I hopes this helps.
    Karmoon: "well.. any kore = good kore" 12:35pm PST 23 May 2007


  5. #4
    Ghost of LO ForgedInTheFurnaceOfWar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Portland, Oregon
    Age
    30
    Posts
    3,861
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    185 (x8)

    Now, I thought I had 8 attacks (5 base, plus Charge, Furious Charge, and 2 CCW).
    My opponent said I only had 7, claiming I did not have 2 CCW's.
    Well eh. If he is base X attacks, then you'd get an attack for charging, and an attack for having 2 close combat weapons. Furious Charge however, does nothing to increase your number of attacks.

    Thus 7 attacks on the charge.
    Questions about drop pods? Click Here.

    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

    Death From Above!
    Need help with your HQ? Click Here.

  6. #5
    Sadomachiatto Karmoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Posts
    7,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    790 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by kore View Post
    - You only get 7 attacks on the charge (you're opponent is correct)
    Only 7 attacks :rofl

    I've been looking through this, and all characters who are in power armour benefit from the extra attack from two CC weapons.

    Of course, those in terminator armour don't need it, as they have za daemon weapons
    LO Rules

    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous
    Anyone who's as loyal and motivated to doing what they love as you are is respectable in my book
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyric
    I'm taking leave of my senses and shall be out of my mind until further notice.

  7. #6
    With Oden On Our Side... The Doctor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    I'm on a boat!
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,137
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x3)

    Excellent.
    Though it would seem we have BOTH forgotten the rule for Furious Charge.
    I thought it was +1 I and +1A. I guess I'll have to get a BGB and check on that XD.

    Still, 7 attacks that hit on a 2+, Wounding pretty easily. Much love.
    Half Gods are worshiped with Wine and Flowers. Real Gods are worshiped in Blood.

    Blood for the Blood God! Beer for the Bronze Keg!

  8. #7
    Sadomachiatto Karmoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Frankfurt, Germany
    Posts
    7,076
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    ReputationReputation
    790 (x8)

    THe big grey book is like your 40K bible.

    HAve it on you at all times, and cherish it. And build huge pectoral muscles from the fact that it's so heavy
    LO Rules

    Quote Originally Posted by Anonymous
    Anyone who's as loyal and motivated to doing what they love as you are is respectable in my book
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyric
    I'm taking leave of my senses and shall be out of my mind until further notice.

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    179
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    17 (x1)

    Speaking of questions about this most magnificent chap...

    Gorechild says it hits on [value]+ regardless, but this is just against things with a WS value yeah? ie, not against vehicles where usual rules apply? I'm sure I read some comment somewhere about it hitting vehicles on a [value]+, but the text intimates it's a WS thing?

    (wasn't sure if it was ok to put the actual value you need to roll in my question!)

  10. #9
    With Oden On Our Side... The Doctor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    I'm on a boat!
    Age
    27
    Posts
    1,137
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    43 (x3)

    The book says "attacks hit on a [value]+".
    I took that to mean any Melee attacks.

    However a new question arises. Does that rule apply when attacking skimmers, who require a [higher value]+ to be hit?
    Half Gods are worshiped with Wine and Flowers. Real Gods are worshiped in Blood.

    Blood for the Blood God! Beer for the Bronze Keg!

  11. #10
    Member TheBloodening's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Edmonton, AB, Canada
    Age
    27
    Posts
    92
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by The Doctor View Post
    The book says "attacks hit on a [value]+".
    I took that to mean any Melee attacks.

    However a new question arises. Does that rule apply when attacking skimmers, who require a [higher value]+ to be hit?
    I would assume that if it counts as "close combat", the attacks would hit on the [lower value]+ regardless. Similar to Bio-Plasma with 'Nids, but a little less specific on the type discrimination. As long as your hits count as close combat attacks, you should be hitting on that value regardless of type, as far as I can see.

    Edit:
    Quote Originally Posted by The Doctor View Post
    Excellent.
    Though it would seem we have BOTH forgotten the rule for Furious Charge.
    I thought it was +1 I and +1A. I guess I'll have to get a BGB and check on that XD.
    Rulles for Furious Charge are also in the old Chaos Codex, if you happen to own it / have it handy.
    Last edited by TheBloodening; December 14th, 2007 at 16:19. Reason: Helpful advice, I hope.
    [Thousand Sons]
    [Tyranids - Unnamed Hive Fleet]
    [Tau Empire]

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts