Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Thought I would put this here rather than in the generic 40k rules question section as it is a bit specialised.
If I have a Daemon prince with gaze and aura of decay who is 4" away from some guardsmen and 12" from some enemy marines can I shoot gaze at the marines and then cast aura of decay which just effects everyone within 6". Does this count as splitting fire and could I charge the guardsmen in the assault phase as they did suffer from one of my shooting attacks?
Quorn! - Protein for the Protein God.
Not too sure about the first part, I'd probably let the aura "shot" count (I can't see a Daemon turning this power on and off like a lightbulb), due to its nature I can't see it missing anything nearby just because your intended target is too far away. I'd expect it to cause a few rules debates with various players though, as the shooting rules (too far away = auto miss) seem to contradict the attacks description (anything within range = hit) in addition to using a ranged attack you know is very far out of range - so you're only using it to get some extra kills from nearby fodder.
On the second part, no. You can only charge your intended shooting target.
Last edited by Malignant_one; June 20th, 2008 at 12:58. Reason: Modified my wording, to make it a little clearer.
Apathy is its own reward...
This is going to cause Nurgle players a world of hurt (i.e. arguments).
It is plainly obvious that Aura of Decay should be able to be used this way. However, you'll need to clear this with games organisers or your opponents pre-game, otherwise small wars will ensue, with you in the middle.
As Mad Cat rightly said, you can only Assault a unit that you shot at. So in your example, I don't think anyone would go with you Assault the Guards, when you definetely shot at the SMurfs. Note that Aura of Decay is also a shooting attack though.
If I where you, I'd make sure to keep things as simple as possible. So in your example, either shoot everything at the Guard, then Assault them, or forget the Assault bit.
Sorry that I can't give a clearer response.
It is specifically defined in the codex as a shooting attack, so here's my take on it.
Aura of decay is a shooting attack, so it must be in range of the target to go into effect. If you have a marine squad 12" away that you gaze, and you want to cast aura, you can't b/c they are out of range, same as any normal shooting attack.
However, if you gaze a unit within 6" and use your aura, your aura will affect that unit plus any other units within 6" as the entry says any enemy model.
I think the ruling here is that the target has be in range in order to use a shooting attack (you can't fire a template weapon, have it come up short, and still have it hit other units), and you must fire at the same target. However, if you're shooting attack affects other units due to a blast effect (like most templates and aura) that is acceptable.