Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This was something that came up recently during a game. Basically the chaos player I was allied with swore that wasn't allowed to have an IC join a squad with a differing mark. For example a Lord with the MoS joing a Zerker squad. Now I had always assumed that you could in this codex, as I'd read nothing specific (or couldn't remember having) stating that I couldn't, as in the last codex. But then I realised that I hadn't (or couldn't remember) having read anything that said that I could actually do this. Several frantic searches in the codex later and I still can't find anything stating that I specifically can or can't. So, my question is, can we mix marks in this way? I'm thinking specifically of an IC (Lord or Sorc) joining a unit.
I might just be missing something in the dex, but would someone be able to point out any mention as to whether we can or can't?
Hive Fleet Fuzzy Bunny: Lots and lots of points of Nids (4000pts+)
The Chapter of the Damned: 5500pts of Dark Angels
The Children of Fulgrim: 5-6000pts of Emperors Children
The Kabal of the Bloodied Claw: 2000pts of Dark Eldar
You should be able to do it. Can anyone else prove otherwise?
"When Blood Speaks, Shadows Answer."
But Lash Princes aren't IC's and so can't join units. Oh wait, huh, an HQ other than a Lash Prince? :p
Anyway, you don't need to specifically find something that says your lord with MoS can join Berzerkers, just that there's nothing to specifically forbid it. By default, a chaos lord is an IC and is able to join other units. So unless there's a rule in the codex to disallow him joining something with a different mark, he can join anything [barring single models, vehicles, etc, as per the BRB].
I never found anything prohibiting it myself.
"Science has made us gods even before we are worthy of being men." - Jean Rostand
it depends macewind, on raw.
i mean, technically the IC which joins the squad becomes part of the squad and the wording says "All models in the unit" and the rulebook says he counts as a member of the unit.
I have never played it like that (it doesnt really matter for MON or MOT who's effect is noticable when firing at the squad although in CC it would matter) but i could see that some people would.
it would be interesting to have a ruling on this in a FAQ though.
I believe your friend is referencing old rules. It used to be that a Marked Character could only joined units that had the Mark of Undivided or the same Mark as the Character.
Emperor have mercy on those who stand against me, for I shall not.
I think hes referring to the old codex where characters with specific marks couldnt join anyone other than Undivided or the same Mark. Theres nothing to prevent you doing this in the current codex (as far as I know)-though from a fluff point of view it would be unlikely that a Slannesh sorcerer joins and mob of Khorne Bezerkers.
thats true, but there is nothing to stop a slaanesh sourcerer joining a squad who's currently worshiping Khorne (which is supposedly what icons indicate). Nor do all worshippers of the fell gods fall into the category of Beserkers, noise marines, thousand sons and plague marines.