Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Im sure this will most likely be a common question but, would anyone object to me using one of the 'new' land raiders (crusader and redeemer) in a chaos force?
I dont intend to take off the points for machine spirit (to make up for cross-ruling) and I will ask every opponent but I just wanted to know what everyone thinks.
"Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe." – Albert Einstein
Being honest? I would not be too happy if my opponent tried to pull that. This is like an Eldar player taking a squad of Genestealers, and saying 'its alright! I paid the points for it'. Just wouldn't slide with me.
This is something to bring up with your local gaming group, to be honest, as I don't think 'But the guys on LO said its fine!' would be a good reason. I personally think you should pick an army to play, and take the good, and the bad. If you like the land raider so much, use the space marine rules, just don't miox them with chaos rules for units.
But again, as I said, its up to the people at your gaming group. Good luck.
Rork: In the dark future of the 41st millennium there is only friendship.
Fenrir: and magic.
Kaiser-: My Little Chaos Marine, Friendship is Heresy?
I'd say in Apocalypse... go for it!
But, I think the answer would be "no" in a regular game. Still, in the spirit of houserules, if your opponent agrees then you can take pretty much anything you want. I know there's certain margins of flexibility within the rules that I'd allow: unless I was at a tournement I'd let someone take a Chaos Crusader (if they'd made an obvious effort to Chaos it it up and had a solid fluff reason why their traitor marines were chugging around in a post-heresy tank) whereas I wouldn't let that Eldar player throw Genestealers out the back of a Waveserpent.
Just, have a Codex legal army with you for those people who say "no".
Nope. Depends on your opponent but outside of Apocalyspe Id say no to be honest. Riptor has already made a great point about the genestealers in an eldar army. Id also advise against buying something thats 35 pounds and takes some time to assemble/paint that is dependent on your opponent allowing you to use it in normal games.