Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Maybe this has changed in 5th ed. But as i remember it, you could not deep strike a sorc/lord with your terminators, cuz the HQ had to attach to the squad after they were on the field, and could not deep strike together in one roll. Is this different in 5th ed? With the dissolution of retinues, it would make sense that you should now be able to do this. What are your opinions on this matter?
I know not what weapons World War 3 will be fought with. All I know is that World War 4 will be fought with sticks and stones.
I think the thing was that you could take retinues with you when they were available in the last codex, but your independant characters could not join other squads until they were both on the field. The rules of 5th ed. clearly states that ICs can now join squads in the deployment phase and that they then count as part of the unit when rolling for reserves.
Or, in short, yes, it is now possible to deep-strike a terminator lord/sorcerer with a terminator squad.
Its all on page 94 of the main rulebook, if ya need it.
"It takes a vast amount of self control to be this dangerous."
---Ogvai Ogvai Helmshrot, Jarl of Tra, VI Legion Astartes