Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, it say Warptime can be used at the begining of each players turn. Now it say you can only use 1 power per turn (or two if you have some special rule) now if you use warptime as your first (or second power) You turn, when your opponents turn come sup can you use it again? This is again one of those grey areas GW is known for. It says per player turn, do they mean both players, or just yours.
Example: I have Mark of of Nurgle and use warptime my turn, can I use warptime in my opponets turn as well? Or I have Mark of tzeentch and use warptime and bolt of change my round, can I use warptime in my opponents round too?
Last edited by Hashulaman; December 25th, 2008 at 10:45.
If a Million Guardsmen die, that's a statistic. If one marine dies, that's a tragedy.
Short answer, yes. The opponents turn counts as a new turn for the fac t of only casting one psychic power, so you can cast it in yours AND his turn.
Rork: In the dark future of the 41st millennium there is only friendship.
Fenrir: and magic.
Kaiser-: My Little Chaos Marine, Friendship is Heresy?
Yeah what he said. When they say the word "turn" they mean your turn plus the oppenents turn equals one "turn". When they say "player turn" they mean specifically your turn OR the opponents turn.
Wait, you're confusing me! Riptor says twice per game turn but you say once per game turn. My own take on it is that you can only use psychic powers once per game turn but you can activate Warptime when your opponent starts his own (player) turn. For practical purposes, this means you can use Warptime in every other assault phase...unless you have the Mark of Tzzentch, in which case you can use Warptime in both assault phases since Warptime doesn't take the place of a shooting attack. GW could have phrased it a bit better.Yeah what he said.
"My tanks have names, my men have numbers." -Col. Edmund Grahvess, 23rd Kronecker Prison Guard
twice per GAME TURN as in, you can use it in your phases, and during your opponents phases.
so If you use it on your turn and your opponents until turn 2, thats twice.
Or, if you have a Tzeentch Sorceror, you can use it twice in your turn and twice in your opponents turn, if you were so inclined.
The Mark of Tzeentch allows you to cast two psychic powers per player turn, making a Tzeentch Sorceror a Warptime Force-weapon wielding machine of doom in every turn, provided you pass all the Psychic Tests.
I personally use a Tzeentch Sorceror with Warptime and Jump Pack, because he is more than capable of assassinating any character with ease.. now if only I could find a way to get Initiative 6...
Hope this helps!
2H - LEGIO HYDRA
What I'd do in this situation is have Warp Time and Doom Bolt or Bolt of Change. Cast Warp Time then cast your ranged attack at the unit/character you're looking to assassinate. Then charge him in for some especially devastating nastiness. In my opinion, a Tzeentch Sorcerer is one of, if not the most reliable character killers in the Chaos Army. I'd say he's more reliable than even a Daemon Weapon wielding Lord of Slaanesh.
Best of a luck! Let us know what you decide to do and how it turns out. I'm always curious how our advice here helps or hinders on the table top.
Chaos - 55,000+ points
Tyranids - 15,000+ points
Necrons - 6000 points
I read 'player's turn' as ~ 'player turn' per v5 RB pg9:
"one game turn will comprise two player turns"
Also on C:CSM pg88:
"A psyker may only attempt to use one psychic power
per turn. The only exception to this is a model with the
Mark of Tzeentch, which can attempt to use up to two"
So, an apparent maximum of two Psi attempts per "turn". So far -Also on v5 RB pg9:one of those grey areas GW is known for
"Whenever a rule uses the word ‘turn’, both in this rule
book and in the Codexes, it means ‘player turn’,
otherwise it will clearly state ‘game turn’."
So, models with MoT can try twice per turn (otherwise Gift would be useless).
That is, twice per player - or player's - turn, not per game turn.
IMO, that's not a terribly grey area when viewed in context.
For greyish areas, see RB p50: [Force Weapons confer]
"one additional psychic power, used in close combat"
Presumably this "one additional" bumps the 'normal' allowance to 2 (or 3 w/ MoT).
Well, so far - See also C:CSM p85 [Sorc w/ a Familiar]:
"may be given one psychic power more than normal"
So now, a MoT Sorc with Familiar can have, say, WT; Gift; BoC *and* a Force Weapon.
*And* we can fit two of these beasts into a 600pt FOC? Oh, dear. :- >
Yak FAQ notes for completeness:
[A Deep Striking model] "cannot use [SoT Powers] in the turn they deep strike"
[IoS Powers] "can only be used once per turn"
[MoT DPs, being MCs] "can use two [IoS Powers] ... at the same target"
[Normal Force Weapon use is] "once per turn"
What'd I miss?
Last edited by Playa; December 28th, 2008 at 23:48. Reason: Typo