Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
In the codex, it says that combi-weps only carry enough ammo for 1 shot, does that mean that combi-plasmas cant rapid fire?
It is generally agreed that combi plasmas can rapid fire. They carry enough for one shooting phase.
Rork: In the dark future of the 41st millennium there is only friendship.
Fenrir: and magic.
Kaiser-: My Little Chaos Marine, Friendship is Heresy?
For a fluff-wise explanation, at long range some of the shots miss at that range. It's the same amount of shots fired (at shorter ranges more hit, so you roll more dice.)
For a more technical rules answer: Rapid fire is a attribute to a weapon, much like "Melta" or "Heavy 3" or "Assault 3" - you fire the weapon once, and if it's attribute was for example "Heavy 3" you would roll 3 dice to hit (Imagine a hail of machine gun bullets if you will.) To nit-pick, you fired the weapon once, and rolled three rolls to hit.
Rapid fire is the same, it just varies how many shots you have according to range.
Last edited by stayscrunchyinmilk; February 5th, 2009 at 12:33.
Adeptus Mechanicus Marines: http://www.librarium-online.com/foru...ml#post1655065
The Space Marine codex states in can be rapid fired "of course" in the armory section.
Like stays crunchy is saying: A model can (usually) only fire once per turn. But if the weapon is heavy# or rapid fire they get the two shots.
Last edited by darby5; February 4th, 2009 at 22:32.