Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've been playing eldar for a while, and today i played an annihilation match with a nurgle player.
Now. We had a rather heated discussion about how Boon of Mutation worked. The problem being that i wasn't sure if he was able to cast it into my transport targeting my Farseer. Without the codex in hand He insisted that it was legitimate (after making it clear that the game was over otherwise), so i allowed it. sadly my Farseer has a less than appealing toughness value and promptly failed the test.
Even though i won, i still would like a clarification on this rule for next time, as it seriously hampered my plans.
i would say no, since you pick the target by model, and the model isn't on the field at the moment
I think it would depend on the circumstances. Did the model using the Boon of Mutation see the Farseer go into the transport? If not, then the best that could happen would be to Boon a random model in the transport, assuming the model knew there was a squad in your transport. If the Booning model knew the Farseer was in the transport, the I would think it is a legal target based on the following from the second paragraph, page 73 of the Chaos Daemons Codex: "Boon of Mutation is a ranged weapon, but the Daemon may be in close combat at the time it uses it, as may the target. Pick any one enemy model (no line of sight required) and roll to hit. If a hit is scored and the target is found to be within 6" of the Daemon, the target must immediately take a Toughness test."
I'm just not sold on it, how can you target somthing you cnnot see? i know it does not require los, but this seems a little overboard. can models in transports really be made targets? "Pick any one enemy model", i think i'm with CrownAxe, i dont think the models are even on the board to be considered as targets inside a transport.
can anyone send/link me some hard evidence to put this to rest, because i don't want to be ripped again.
you got ripped off man. it states that the power counts as a RANGED WEAPON. no ranged weapon can target a specific model, or any model in a transport.
When in doubt, more Bloodcrushers
The Farseer is not technically on the table so I don't think he can be picked out by boon. Boon doesn't require LoS and can pick out models normally, but models in transports are never valid targets.
I'll be playing devils advocate here as I could see where one could be confused in this particular match-up.
On the one hand, an Eldar Farseer in a wave serpent or falcon grav tank CAN cast psychic powers out of said transport, using the hull of the ship as the center point for any distances measured despite their being no fire points.
If that is the case, why could a daemon prince, greater daemon, or herald not be able to cast boon of mutation INTO the vehicle.
The only reason I could pheasably see to deny the boon is in definitions:
"Boon of Mutation is a ranged weapon,... (no line of sight is required)..." (Chaos Daemons, p73. Emphasis mine)
Eldar Farseers have psychic powers, used at the beginning of the eldar turn instead of in the shooting phase like ranged weapons.
Being a ranged weapon I would assume that it would be considered a shooting attack. Therefore the daemon player cannot target a character in a transport no more than a Tau Smart Missile system can target an independant character inside a rhino.
As a side note: this classification as a ranged weapon IS a double-edged sword. While Daemons players may not get the special perks of having awesome eldar-like psychic powers it also means that they cannot be nullified by Psychic hoods or Grey Knight abilities.
NECRON Army List Builder a Free excel capable list generator for 5th and 6th ed. 11/2011
Necrons - 6000 points, Tau - 6000, Daemons - 5250, Eldar - 4500, Blood Angels - 5000
Some pics form my hobby. http://s145.photobucket.com/albums/r...arodragon/40k/
Though the rulebook does not explicitly say this (please correct me if I've overlooked something) and the situation would be remedied by GW defining 'target', I believe the fact that the transported unit is not on the board would make them not valid targets for shooting.
Any embarked troops are placed aside and a note is made as to which transport they are in, ergo, they are not on the board and unable to be targeted. If we were able to target something not on the board, what is to stop a player from targeting a unit that is in strategic reserve, or as I said before, what is to stop a tau broadside suit from firing a smart missile system at a character or unit inside a transport? Logically one would figure that the transports armoured hull would stop said missiles from getting to the character, and boon of mutation works just like any other ranged weapon that does not require line of sight.