Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Does Lucius get a +1A with his power sword and Lash of Torment?
But would Lash of Torment be considered a special weapon? If so, then 2 special weapons won't give you +1A unless they were the same weapons.
I would be under the impression that anything that is not a normal weapon, i.e. Chainsword, Chainaxe, Regular sword/knife, is considered a special weapon. Anything that has its own stat breakdown is a special weapon is another way of looking at it. Chain weapons and normal swords don't have a stat line, therefore they are normal weapons. Chainfist, Powerfist, Powersword, Daemon Weapon, etc. all have their own stat line and are therefore special weapons. That is just what I would assume.
Edit: by statline I mean breakdown or description in the book. Special rules.
It says right in the codex it counts as a close combat weapon, doesn't get any simpler than that if you ask me. Close Combat Weapon + Power Weapon = +1 attack.
I think you're trying to find a reason why it shouldn't be +1 attack. Why would they even bother clarifying it is a close combat weapon at all if that you say was the case?
Trust me I wouldn't be trying to prove something detrimental to Chaos if I didn't believe it to be the case. I'm not trying to "find" reasons to lose the +1 A. Per the Rulebook
Normal Close Combat Weapons
Weapons like Chainswords, rifle butts, combat blades bayonets, etc., do not confer any particular bonus to the model using them...
Special Close Combat Weapons
These include more complex and powerful weapons that enhance the wielder's combat skills and confer bonuses, and sometimes penalties, to the models using them.
Since the Lash of Torment does apply benefits to Lucius I would read it as a Special Close Combat Weapon.
I do see what you are trying to say though. It does specifically say it "counts as a close combat weapon". However in the spirit of the game I don't think they meant it as literally a normal close combat weapon. I just think they were trying to convey that it would only work in CC, like CC weapons do.
Edit. Every time I re-read Lucius's entry I am starting to think along you lines though Zeruel13.
It is an interesting question and a difinitive answer from GW or someone with more clout than myself would be nice.
Last edited by Karnaj; April 26th, 2009 at 04:04. Reason: added comment
You also have to keep in mind our codex was written in 4th edition not with 5th in mind. Back then when they said counts as a close combat weapon it meant it was able to pair off with another close combat weapon for the +1 attack, that was intentional. Back then the rules for special close combat weapons did not exist as they do now.