Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
So my friend and I got into it a while back about LoS from the fire point. He insisted that since the FP was on top, my models (Armed with Plasma guns) could not shoot his troops right next to the hull (Damn genestealers!). I contended that it would be a simply task to... you know, lean over, similar to firing over a low barrier (Page 22 in the Rulebook). In hindsight, I should have asked how a Flamer would fire out without scorcing the tanks armor itself.
The FAQ isn't clear on this... whats the consensus? Yea or nay, can the guys shooting from the top reach over the side and fire, or are they stuck with true LoS from the top, meaning I have to aim a few inches away from the hull?
I would see it as they can shoot them, as the genestealers are clawing, thrashing and jumping all over the tank to destroy it. It can be seen from both perspectives, but I believe your perspective is the correct one. As I tell everyone, it's all about how you visualize the battle, mindless creatures bent on killing and devouring the humans inside of a tank aren't going to crouch down as low to the ground as possible and scratch at the armor, they're going to go nuts and try to rip it apart.
Ghost of Rage, just bear in mind that conceptualizing a battle scenario isn't not the best argument for rules calls.
As to the question, it's true LoS. Danjones offered a pretty good solution, although I've had opponents argue that a model inside the transport should not be permitted its full height when targeting out of a fire port, as they model is not actually standing on top of the rhino, but firing from half-way inside it.
Tribesman, as you said, there's no precedent in the rules for this scenario, so really, it's your call... eh, or you and your opponent's call. For my games, I generally use a rhino that has one of those gunners on the hatch, which allows a fairly reasonable height comparison that both myself and my opponent can agree on.
Spambot kill tally. . .337
I only mention the visualization because it's how some tricky rules have been judged for me in the past. Also, I should mention that Rabbit is right, use the dude holding the bolter attachment that comes with the Rhino, it could simplify this situation a bit more.
I believe that the model should be able to shoot at things which are attacking the side and would agree with Rabbit on using that model.
A side note however, the rhino's roof has hinges which move up so in reality a marine might not be able to easily shoot at something that is on either side.
example of rhino...from front...
_\ ___ /_
x -___- x
While we are on the subject -
Can you shoot a Daemon Prince hiding behind a Rhino? Can it be seen?
Hey there Hotspike,
If you're using the GW prince of the FW Nurgle Prince, then the answer is yes. Although, the prince would receive a cover save.
Spambot kill tally. . .337
isin't it true however that after the FAQ that Chaos rhinos have two firepoints?
PM me about Aurora Prime Vassal fights! Willing and ready!