Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay, well everyone agrees that a combi-plasma can only be shot in one shooting phase for the whole game, end of story.
But, I've seen a few people say that, if within rapid fire range, the weapon gets two shots off. Now, of course this makes sense, it's the rules for plasma, they are a rapid fire weapon of course. BUT, this doesn't make sense to me, becasue in the codex it specifically states that combi weapons come with enough ammo for one shot.
So, this means that they can not rapid fire, correct? That's the impression I've always had. But I could be wrong, could someone clear this up for me?
Yes in the codex it says that it only has ammo for one shot but a Plasma Gun is rapid fire so it is generally played with the ability to rapid fire once a battle.
Just a man.... with a chainsword.......
Unquisitor is correct, Combi-Plasmas can rapid fire. You are making the grave mistake of mixing fluff, and rules. The fluff is that it carries enough forone shot. The actual rules are 'A model armed with a combi-weapon may choose to either fire the bolter, or the other weapon. The bolter may be first every turn, but the other weapon may only be used once per battle.'
Once per battle on a rapid fire weapon = round of rapid firing = 2 shots.
Rork: In the dark future of the 41st millennium there is only friendship.
Fenrir: and magic.
Kaiser-: My Little Chaos Marine, Friendship is Heresy?
yup....they meen that the plasma wepon, wich is a plasma gun, gets one shot... and with rapid fire one shot means it can double tap. So since all rapid fire wepons count as double tapping at twelve inches...thus the combie-plasma follows that rule.
I agree with Riptor, the Codex say that it can be used for one turn, so yes it can rapid fire. Games Workshop contradicts itself a fair bit from fluff to rules, so just go with the rules. If your unsure just post, coz thats what LOnline is for!
I don't even see how it contradicts fluff either. It has enough ammo for one volley of fire which is 2 shots at 12". Because it only fires 1 shot at 24" doesn't necessarily mean it's not still firing the same amount of ammunition, it just means the farther off a target is the less shots will actually hit them as accurately. It's like firing any kind of machine gun at longer ranges, spray and pray hits less when there's a greater distance between the firer and the target.
Now, if a combi plasma is shot, can the termies charge afterwards??
PM me about Aurora Prime Vassal fights! Willing and ready!
Unfortunately, RaW only allows our termis an exception for moving, firing, and charging (all in the same round) with Heavy Class weapons- not Rapid Fire Class. Chaos termis must abide by the standard rules for all other weapon classes. So AlbinoAlien, to answer you question, you would not be capable of firing with your combi-plasma and then charging into close combat with a chaos terminator.
::: DISREGARD THIS POST. HAS BEEN SHOW TO BE INACCURATE ::: ~Rabbit
Last edited by Rabbit; July 15th, 2009 at 01:11.
Spambot kill tally. . .337
CSM Codex pg. 86 "Terminator Armour" Entry. 2nd paragraph, 2nd sentence.
"Models in Terminator Armour are capable of of moving and firing with heavy weapons and may assault after firing rapid fire and heavy weapons."
It would be rather silly of GW to make is so Chaos Termis couldn't charger after shooting 2 Bolter rounds, but able to after two from a reaper, don't ya think?