Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I might've gotten my Fantasy and 40k rules confused in my brain. But I could've sworn I read in the daemons codex that the Masque couldn't join units but just recently saw a friend put her with 20 daemonettes. The experience made me wonder why I wasn't protecting my masque in a unit of nettes for the year or so the new codex has been out.
Here's my question: do the steelers have a chance at the Super Bowl? But seriously...
Can the Masque really join units?
How do run your Masque if you do?
What would you prefer to use instead?
You can't have the Masque join units in either system (specific special rule in WHFB, doesn't have IC USR in 40K)
Most people don't bother with the masque because of this. even wtih 3++ and 2W all you really need is one or two squads worth of shooting to kill her. She just is too easy to kill to be worth it
Yes she cannot join units.
You can try an hide her by running nerby units in fron of her in the shooting phase but she is often a one shot wonder. That is not such a bad thing as 3 pavines can be really useful in some cases and an enemy unit has to put a reasonable amount of fire in to her to get the kill.
If you take the Fateweaver then her survivability increases substantially and this is the only case I would reccomend taking the Masque. An 88.8% invulnerable save is hard to get through.
Quorn! - Protein for the Protein God.
Yes, they're correct, she cannot join units, but I think she can still be viable, especially in the 2nd wave, since she can drop and use her power the same turn.
I think your friend's confusion comes from a picture in the codex, which shows the Masque mixed in with daemonettes. That confused me too, but her entry states very clearly, she cannot join units.
"Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
I've used the Masque once or twice. She will probably only pull off her multiple Pavane party trick once, if at all. She's just way too easy to kill to be too useful. I would never take her as my only Herald.
I use the masque as my only hq - partly because i only have her and skulltaker, but mainly because I find her really useful in my list. Her pavane usually hits 2 times - that's one tightly grouped circle and one flamer group ready for my SG's phlegm and Flamer's BoC to hit.
My Demons: W/D/L: 12/1/1. Best games with them:
Taking out 1500 pts of SM in two turns with 750 pts of demons.Taking out a Baneblade with one bolt of Tz.