Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Question regarding Sorcerer familiars:
It says in the 'dex that a familiar is classed as being on the same base as the sorcerer but can be represented separately for modeling purposes. Question is how do I stand on using a larger base for my sorcerer to accommodate the familiar? I feel that the familiar would look a little silly on its own base and rules wise its classed as sharing base with the character anyway.
You see Im getting a Nurgle sorceror in power armour, would like to bump him up to a terminator base to accomodate a familiar and some nice basing, Can I get away with it on grounds of him being an IC and stuff? or will I be accused of trying to increase his close combat prowess and therefore could only use the larger termi base if he was in fact in terminator armour?
my group plays it as "you can put anything on a bigger base just not a smaller base"
when life gives you lemons.........LEMONS FOR THE LEMON GOD!!
Legally, HQ's can be bumped up ONE space larger then what they come with. So you can switch him to the larger termie base.
PM me about Aurora Prime Vassal fights! Willing and ready!
If you make it two separate models it plays pretty easily, if the little guy gets in the way you just move his model to the side until the close combat or whatever is done. If you must put them on the same model, why not get the whfb tzeentch sorceror on the disc and put a familiar somewhere on there? The disc gives you plenty of room to fit a familiar on or under it.
I think increasing the base size makes them worse because it allows more models to fit in base to base contact with them thus allowing more to attack the single model at once. So I don't think anyone will argue with you about increasing the base size, but I wouldnt recommend it for the same reason.
You know Mindraked or someone brought this up a while ago, and none of the thread responders could find a rule in the 5th Edition Rulebook like we used to have that says you can up the base size. Might want to call in the Rulez boyz on this one, or check with some other official source. (unless of course all of us missed it)
Thanks for all the replies guys. So rules wise I'm actually putting the sorceror at a disadvantage by upping his base size? intriguing, part of me thinks well at least no-one will oppose such a move. But there is the part of me that would like to see my Sorceror live for a few turns. Thanks again for the help
the rule is in the book. It states that the model can only be placed on the base it is supplied with.
So, strictly, you cannot place your sorcerer on a 40mm base unless he came with it. Most people and tourneys have no issue with it. I myself put all my HQ's on a 40mm base. It makes them stand out more and that is the way I based them in 4th ed, so I do not feel like changing.
Mirage Arcana Podcast
The "A Smart Player Will..." theory is a complete paradox. If we make an assumption that everything we do is outsmarted, then theoretically we can never win.