Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was playing a match against one of my friends today with another of my friends on the side watching and helping with rules (he was holding the rule book in case of arguements). I happen to field Defilers in my armies and always played them as being able to fire their ord blast and still charge into combat, but my "rules" friend challenged that. He said because other tanks say they can't fire any more weapons due to having to "aim and focus" the blast, that a Defiler wouldn't be able to charge due to having to focus. However, we couldn't find a rule specifically for the Defiler as it's the only walker to have an ord blast (I believe anyway). Can anyone tell me where I might be able to find the exact ruling on this stating who's correct?
As far as the rulebook works, saying something cannot shoot any other weapons is different from assaulting. If a model with more than one weapon on its person shoots one of them, it is not allowed to shoot the others, but that doesn't affect it's assault movement unless it fires a weapon type that specifically prevents it from doing so.
Nothing in Ordinance weapon profile says that models/vehicles cannot assault after firing such a weapon
Nothing in the Walker section says anything about Ordinance Weapons (though it does says it can assault even after firing Heavy and Rapid Fire weapons, which is somewhat encouraging)
My assessment (not an expert) is that nothing is stopping you. I've met many people who play it this way. Until someone can show you with actual text or a judge's ruling (at a tournament or something) I would let it play.
Seconded. Given that Walkers can move and fire (then assault) heavy weapons, I would say that it can assault after.
That being said, in one battle I had a Defiler firing its battlecannon at a unit about 10" away once, had it scatter back on itself, then destroy itself. Which was hilarious.
that always seems to hurt. i hate rolling onto yourself... i did it with my necron monolith and managed to explode myself...
Everyone has this on the head. Defiler is a beast