Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Sometimes there are clear instances when you get to upgrade a model in a unit, and the model gains some ability which replaces a previously held ability, the one held by the majority of models in the unit.
But, I can't find anything in the codex that says when you give a Pink Horror the Bolt of Tzeentch, it loses Warpfire. The wording is "gift one model." If it had said "upgrade," I would moreso consider that to be a replacement, since it seems like he's trading in for something better. Maybe I'm reading into it too much. Is there anything in the rulebook that covers upgrades in this light?
In other words, I gift Breath of Chaos to my Lord of Tzeentch, and this does not override any of his default shooting attacks. Why should it for the Horror? There's no rule that I'm aware of that that says Infantry are allowed only one shooting attack!
It'd be nice to be able to pick and choose when to use the Bolt, and when to have it contribute to the volleys of shots Horrors need to be successful. Am I asking for too much, or is this indeed the case??
Last edited by illbeinyourband; November 28th, 2009 at 16:23.
You are right, it does not replace warp fire, it is simply an addition. The model with this upgrade can use either shooting ability. It can be handy at times.
Thanks. This is how I'd been playing it, and my friend agreed, but I wanted to make sure.
Orange is correct, and I just wanted to add that there is no instance in the Chaos Daemons army where an ability is replaced with another, besides 'independent character' which is sometimes replaced with another rule when a mount or chariot is added.
Powers and abilities, however, are always in addition to what they already have. So if you gave a pink horror 'bolt' than they have bolt in addition to their other shooting powers. They can still only fire one per turn. Monstrous creatures, however, can fire multiple guns in the same turn.
"Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."