Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, was thinking about what powers you get a 2+ inv save from - in the codex it says "The Daemon has a 2+ inv save against all wounds caused by psychic powers and force weapons". So a standard way of reading this would be to say that wounds caused by say Bolt of Change, or Avenger. However, I think that RaW opens up some interesting ideas;
10 guided Dire Avengers blade storm 40 shots at your doomed flesh hounds, hitting thirty times, and then another 7 with guide, and wounding 16 times, and then again 10 times with doom. The 7 guide hits are caused by a psychic power, and the the 10 doom wounds are caused by a psychic power. Would you argue for a 2+ inv save?
4 Devastors fire lascannons at your Bloodthirster, hitting three times, wounding three times. You save two of these. Would you argue that you get a 2+ save for the reroll against the other wound? Possibly you'll have to reroll the passed 2+ again?
Any hits or wounds that are rerolled by the CSM player are caused by psychic powers.
Lash (A real stretch of the rules)
If a lash is used on a unit to clump them together, or brought out of cover, if that unit is then hit by a blast template or enemy fire, those wounds are indirectly caused by a psychic power.
Basically any power that causes you to take a wound by RaW would allow you to take a 2+ save.
Now I'm not saying I'd do this in a friendly game, but I might in a tournement, espcially if my opponent showed a proclivaty to rules lawyering.
I think it would have to be an actual point of damage directly from a psychic power for example Warp Blast. I would have to argue that you don't get it from Guide/Doom because those powers are not dealing damage, the shuriken launchers are. Doom would be the only thing worth arguing because it's something put on your units (whereas guide does not directly effect you) which is affecting damage, but it's still not directly causing damage.
Lets look at it from this perspective: An eldar player does the same thing to a unit of Sisters of Battle, who have Shield of Faith (5+ save against all powers used on them). Without question they would get to save against Doom because the power was used on them, but would they get a save from Guide? No because it was used on a bit of eldar, even though said guide led to, we'll say, 3 wounds.
As for Doom and BotBG, I still say no because while Doom has led to wounds it did not cause the wounds in the same sense that My sisters would not get to resist Guide.
With regards to Doom and Guide - both effect dice rolls, guide to hit, doom to wound, and both can result in further wounds for a model/squad. As they are both psychic powers, then these wounds were caused by a psychic power. If the psychic power didn't go off, the wounds would not have been caused. Going by the codex "The Daemon has a 2+ inv save against all wounds caused by psychic powers and force weapons" - a doom wound is caused by a psychic power. While the shuriken catapult might have been the thing doing the wounding, without the psychic power there would be no wound. Ditto Guide.
My "normal" reading of the rule would be the same as yours, and in a normal pick up game would be as such. But in a competetive tourney, I would definetly push for a 2+ save vs. any wound caused due to the interference of a psychic attack - so any time a psychic test is taken, passed, and causes a BotBG model to take a save, I'd be doing it on a 2+.
Without the SoB book in front of me I can't comment on the wording of the rule. This theory hinges on the wording in the daemon codex.
The above posters are correct. When they say 'caused by' they mean the actual weapon/ability/power that was used to cause the wound. So it would work against psychic shooting attacks and force weapons, but really nothing else. It's a little strange that GW just didn't say that, and clear up the confusion.
"Any job worth doing, is worth doing with a powerklaw."
Just for the threads sake, how're you getting that the wound has to be from a psychic power (i.e. from doombolt), and not the result of a psychic attack (i.e. doom)? From RaW I can't see it, and RaI is difficult to fathom - after all, it's the only psychic defense in the army.
Mathlete; you've answered your own question, sort of. While it was a psychic power who granted the model with the shuriken catapult the re-roll it was infact the attack from the shuriken catapult who caused the wound. Ergo, no 2+ save because the wound was not caused by a psychic power or force weapon.
So the operative word here is 'caused' and if going by RAW you would have to supply a rule which supports the idea that interferring psychic powers grants abilities/weapons a psychic nature in the first place. There is no such rule.
But to make things easier, just ask yourself these questions; "Is a shuriken a psychic power or force weapon?" and the answer is; no. "Did the Shuriken catapult cause the wound?" and the answer is; yes.
And since the wording on BotBG is; "The Daemon has a 2+ inv save against all wounds caused by psychic powers and force weapons". Therefor, you do not get the 2+ save from these attacks as the wound need to be caused by a psychic attack where in the case of the shuriken catapult it was caused by a standard weapon with no psychic power properties at all.
In short, I seriously advice against even trying to make the case for the 2+ save at a tournament.
""What's the matter? Don't ya like clowns? Don't we make ya laugh?" - Captain Spaulding.
Ok, lets take the shuriken argument to its logical conclusion. 20 shots from anything roll to hit from a guided unit. 10 hit, and when the ten that miss reroll, five more hit. Of the first ten hits five wound, of the 5 guided hits three wound.
"if going by RAW you would have to supply a rule which supports the idea that interferring psychic powers grants abilities/weapons a psychic nature in the first place."
If I was asking for a 2+ save against all the shots, there would need to be a rule written as you suggests. I'm not saying all shots from the weapons count as effected by a psychic power. I'm saying that guide, a psychic power, causes hits that would not have exsisted without the psychic power. So the three guided wounds are directly caused by a psychic power. Without the power these wounds do not exsist. The BotBG rule states "The Daemon has a 2+ inv save against all wounds caused by psychic powers and force weapons". Ergo a flesh hound would recieve a 5+ save vs the five non-guided wounds, and a 2+ save vs. the three guided wounds.
Now replace guide with doom, or with warptime and you get the same results.
It's another example of poorly written rules by GW. Now, a seriously unreasonable player could take this to a rediculous degree, saying that wounds caused due to lash clumping, or from models that have previously avoided death due to making a fortuned save, or any number of examples where a psychic power played some part would cause a 2+ save, but I'm not arguing for that. Though arguments could be made. I leave that for someone with more balls and less friends.
"Is Warp Blast a Psychic Power or Force Weapon? Yes.
Did Warp Blast cause the Wound? Yes.
Doesn't mean that the following isn't true;
Is Fortune/Doom/Warp Time a Psychic Power or Force Weapon? Yes
Did Fortune/Doom/Warp Time cause the wound/s? Yes
Saying that wounds that are resultant from a psychic power granting a reroll from hits or wounds are not hits or wounds caused by a psychic power isn't true.
All the BotBG rule says is that it has to be a wound caused by a psychic power. Crownaxe is only stating that the wound's caused by doom rerolls etc are not caused by psychic power, but you've not shown how this is the case. To me, it seems obvious that a psychic power that allows, for example, failed wound rolls to reroll is causing those successful rerolled wounds.
In pure game terms; Would the wound exist without the psychic power? No. Therefore, the wound is caused by a psychic power.
Not being rude, but the people in the no camp haven't said anything within the rules that refutes my initial idea.