Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've read through the stickied 4th Ed FAQ thread but it didn't have any answers i needed, so I'll throw them out here. I'm still buying and putting together my Khorne army so I haven't had any experience with them either. Not to mention I don't know ALL the 5th ed rules but I'm still learning them. Anyways:
1. Most lists, when it comes to Zerkers have:
Champ w/ Power Fist
Now, is this 8 Zerkers AND a Champ, or 7? The codex says that one Zerker is upgraded, so I'm thinking it's the former, but I just wanted some clarification.
2. Why 8? Why not go for 10 and fill up a Rhino entirely? I understand not having 20 Zerkers on foot, but 8 seems to be the magic number and I just wanted to know why.
3. How exactly do you get Zerkers into a Land Raider? From what I can gather, you need to get some Termies with a dedicated Land Raider, then deploy them separate and stick the Zerkers in the Land Raider. I'm pretty sure they cant start inside the Land Raider, but they can be deployed right next to the empty Land Raider and jump in and move 1st turn, right?
4. Say for example, I have a squad of Zerkers and Kharn in a Land Raider. When exiting the Land Raider, can Kharn exit from one access point, and the Zerkers from another?
i think that's all for now. Thanks guys!
I am not the chaos expert but I find this interesting.
1. 8 zerkers and that includes the champ.
2. 8 is the number for Khorne - I believe this was part of the 3rd edition CSM codex. Each faction had their own special number (sacred number). Slaanesh was 6, Nurgle is 7, Khorne is 8 and Tzeentch is 9. I do remember that back in 3rd edition you would get a free upgrade when you reached that number in the squad. So you will find that most "Themed" lists will embrace the traditions of old and try to maintain the fluff by using the sacred numbers in their squad sizes - of course, you do not have to.
3. Since the Land Raider is not a dedicated transport (but still a transport) any squad without a transport (and is allowed to use a transport) may start the game in it. If the Land Raider belongs to a particular unit (like the Terminators) then only they can start the game in it (notice that a Land Raider that is dedicated to a unit doesn't take up a Heavy slot?). So if the Land Raider is purchased into the Heavy slot then it is available for any unit to get into it (provided that the codex allows them to use a transport and that they do not already have a dedicated transport).
4. Good question - I would say yes (if you want to separate Kharn from the squad). The only thing I am not sure of is if everyone can still assault out of the Land Raider if they do not use the front ramp. Sorry, I am not sure and should let the forum experts answer this one as I think I am over thinking the situation. But as a side note on personal experience, I do remember being charged once by Ragnar and he came out of the side hatch and I didn't think twice about it and let it go (as I was blocking the front ramp in this situation).
Hopefully other can collaborate more specifically.
"On a hunch, I melted them down and inhaled the fumes and read the dark eldar codex again, AND FOUND A BUNCH OF NEW RULES HIDDEN BEHIND THE OTHER WORDS..." [Gardeth on modelling & interpreting the DE Codex]
4. Yes you can, you can also choose to just go out with Kharn if you'd like since he is an Independent Character.
Eight zerkers in a rhino squad is generally a good number regardless of fluff. For one thing, eight is sufficient for dealing with most enemy targets.
Spambot kill tally. . .337
As rabbit points out there is a tactical reason for 8, as well as fluff. 10 seems to wipe out squads more often, leaving your berserkers exposed for a round of shooting. if you can severely weaken a unit, but not wipe it out, then you wipe it out on your opponents turn after the shooting phase.
8 seems to be the magic point where the desired outcome seems to happen most often, though it would be hard to provide statistical data, it just feels right
If Kharn and some Berzerkers are in a Land Raider, then Kharn can't exit out of a different access point than the Berzerkers because there is only one, the front assault ramp.
World Eaters: W-47 D-10 L-9
Necrons: W-19 D-3 L-2
Protectorate of Menoth: W-36 D-0 L-7