Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was playing a game a few days ago and my friend used his Masque and when he used it he told me that it prevented me from moving my units in my turn that he had successfully used Pavane of slaanesh on. In the end it stopped me from shooting 2 or 3 units each and every turn due to The masque and keeper of secrets.
So is this true? He told me that in the rule description it said "This follows the rules of a normal move" therefore meaing that in my turn i cannot move.
Last edited by Pekolie; December 19th, 2010 at 14:40.
Your friend is misinformed. Pavane does not prevent that unit from moving on their next turn, because it is a separate turn.
Pavane doesn't take away your normal move, it creates an 'extra' move, controlled by the Daemon player.
A tear is only water, and a sigh is only air.
We had this discussion about moving units with Heavy weapons when I first using the Masque and of course as said before, it makes no difference to the unit or not because it is a different turn. Heavys get to shoot and you get to move. If it were any different, the write up or the FAQ would say so.
Your friend is confused, but it's understandable. He's mixing up Pavane and Lash of Submission. Lash is only had by Chaos Marine Psykers, and it does indeed do what he said it does, and more. Pavane, however, does none of these things. All it does is move a unit the specified distance during the daemon player's turn. It has no effect on your turn.
The Lash of submission does not prevent you from moving or shooting in your turn after your units have been moved by the lash unless the affected unit fails his pinning test. In fact, the only difference between the Pavane and the Lash is this: Lash moves 2d6", a unit can be moved more than once by the Lash per turn, Lash does not affect vehicles, the Lash may pin the victim and the Lash is a Psyker ability. Both cannot take units out of cc, can drag units through Dangerous terrain and cannot take units off the table. Movement, outside of pinning is normal in the next players' turn. If there is anything contrary to what I've said, I can't find it in the CSM codex or in the FAQ.
Last edited by andrewbeater; December 24th, 2010 at 01:41.
Doh! I forgot to mention that. Yeah, neither prevents you from moving, but what Lash does do is it always makes the target count as having moved during their turn, so if they have heavy weapons, they can't fire them, and rapid fire weapons only have a 12in range (unless they're relentless).
Why would the Lash prevent heavy weapons teams from firing? They move in your turn, not theirs. I can't find a ruling that supports your claim. When the rulebook talks about firing Heavy weapons, it talks about moving on your turn only, not in your opponents turn. The FAQ mentions nothing about moving a Heavy weapons team and then they not being able to fire in their turn. Unless I'm missing something...